Routing errors in London

Image

Moderators: Unholy, Timbones

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Wed Jul 24, 2013 6:34 am

Chris - I think you have these tests scripted now, is that right? Is it very difficult to tabulate these results so Waze HQ have an easy reference for their checking? No worries if not.

Ideally something like: start lat/lon/street, finish lat/lon/street, time of day, success/fail, distance A, distance B

Just shoot me if I'm asking too much!
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:18 pm

Ok testing some E-W routes:

A13 Alfred's Way (Barking) to A316 The Avenue (Richmond) = fail

coming in a bit to Mortlake I get two routes but both drop a bit short over the northside of the river. One of these uses the North Circular.

a bit more to the east side of Putney and we get two successful routes neither of which use the North Circular.

Ditto for Chelsea.

Woolwich to Chelsea ok

Woolwich to East Sheen = fail

Woolwich to Putney is a very interesting one so screen shotted. Destination is just by Wandsworth Park but although I get two routes one drops short on the north side whilst the south of the river one actually crosses the river to end up nearer the first one than the destination!

Image
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:15 pm

Chris

This is really useful work you're doing here. Thanks so much.

David
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 4:51 pm

This is really helpful, thanks a lot.

Do you have any ideas as to whether this is a map or an algorithm based problem?
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:55 am

Pip - thanks! Are yours complete routing failures or just odd routes?
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:52 am

Ilford to Twickenham
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:44 am

We are picking up quite a few routing errors in London at the moment. In particular routing from S or SW London to N or NW London seems to throw up problems. Some of these may be time dependent. Please can we collect any issues on this in this thread so we can see where the problems are arising. I had a few URs where I was tracking them but some very kind visitors to London have marked them as solved.

I have suspicions that both the A406 North Circular and A10 are involved somehow but no proof. there may be a map problem or some issue with Waze's algorithms on particular routes.

If anyone wants to do some debugging please do! I'm pulling my hair out at the moment, and it's my last one.

Example routes that seem to fail (on live map):

Sutton to Cockfosters
Tooting to Hoddesdon

This route was failing the other day but seems to be working at the moment

Chelsea to Hoddesdon
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby CTCNetwork » Thu May 15, 2014 9:39 pm

Hi,

Given they still cannot route from Nottingham to John o' Groats midday (or late at night!) I suspect this is a server capacity issue.
until such time as they give each country a routing server (and maybe a map server?), virtual or otherwise, this problem is NOT going to go away. It is a question of resource.
I was wondering how many servers you could by for a billion... :)

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1599
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Location: Gone!
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 192 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby CTCNetwork » Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:15 pm

Hi,

When all else fails, throw some more pretty graphics at it, or another processor or two! :D

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1599
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Location: Gone!
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 192 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby CTCNetwork » Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:33 pm

Hi,

Good work guys. Would this have anything to do with the time that the routing is done? Is it confined to a particular time/s of day?
Does it tie up with say a busy route calculating period or maybe server/database cleanups or backups?

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1599
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Location: Gone!
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 192 times

PreviousNext

Return to United Kingdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users