[Script] Livemap Navigation Browser Addon [Deprecated]

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: Livemap Navigation Browser Addon (v0.6)

Postby deeggo » Sun Nov 18, 2012 7:20 am

And so does a continue straight instruction.
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4112
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 546 times
Been thanked: 566 times

Re: Livemap Navigation Browser Addon (v0.6)

Postby Timbones » Sat Nov 17, 2012 2:20 pm

Looking in the data from the routingRequest, I can see a bunch of new fields: tts, additionalInstruction and isToll. Not sure what they mean, and I've not seen them be anything but null or false.

Anyway, I've been working on the script today, and have this beta version for you to try:

  • Treats NONE instructions like it does for CONTINUE (NA only)
  • Adds images for each turn instruction (borrowed from editor)
  • Shows links in popup for next and previous instructions
  • Will show above fields in popup if they're become interesting
:ugeek:
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6678
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 973 times
Been thanked: 2608 times

Re: Livemap Navigation Browser Addon (v0.6)

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:50 pm

Tim, I agree with your assessment. Earlier, I didn't pay close enough attention to where the junctions were.

Andy, the instruction used to be called "continue" in the route list, and now appears to be called "none" and has always existed in the instructions passed. However, the app doesn't receive an instruction for this. Waze knows we want to be able to have this for specific situations, but in general, no instruction is needed to stay going straight through a 4-way intersection. You may also be interested to know that the UR routes used to show this continue instruction as well. Note the graphics and information on http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Upda ... ted_Routes
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23590
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1124 times
Been thanked: 4773 times

Re: Livemap Navigation Browser Addon (v0.6)

Postby Timbones » Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:57 pm

It looks like it's only happening on the NA server, with 'none' appearing where it used to have 'continue' instructions (that weren't shown). I'll have a look at fixing this over the weekend...
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6678
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 973 times
Been thanked: 2608 times

Re: Livemap Navigation Browser Addon (v0.6)

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:50 pm

HavanaDay wrote:Doing a little research with the edit map and the "NONE" markers. What it looks like to me is every junction that has no effect on the directions gets a "NONE" marker. Do you agree with that assessment?

If that is what's actually happening, it would be nice to be able to get access to that property. So we could "force" a direction prompt (i.e. "Continue Straight on <RAMP NAME>" when a surface streets leads directly to ramps)
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7151
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 1312 times

Re: Livemap Navigation Browser Addon (v0.6)

Postby HavanaDay » Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:34 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I see the same today. A few directions, lots of "none" rows, and a few more directions.

EDIT: The "none" entries correspond to mileage markers every .1 miles. They've definitely made changes to the response of the RoutingRequest as these "NONE" markers have not existed until very recently. The returned JSON text is significantly longer now, and full of those NONE entries.


Doing a little research with the edit map and the "NONE" markers. What it looks like to me is every junction that has no effect on the directions gets a "NONE" marker. Do you agree with that assessment?
HavanaDay
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 6:08 pm
Location: Midland, NC
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 212 times

Re: Livemap Navigation Browser Addon (v0.6)

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:29 pm

I see the same today. A few directions, lots of "none" rows, and a few more directions.

EDIT: The "none" entries correspond to mileage markers every .1 miles. They've definitely made changes to the response of the RoutingRequest as these "NONE" markers have not existed until very recently. The returned JSON text is significantly longer now, and full of those NONE entries.

EDIT2: The returned code also now includes a "TTS" entry. It looks like Waze is preparing to enable their own navigation list, which should better mirror exactly what the app TTS would read out. There is also a value for "additionalInstruction" which I don't recall seeing before.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23590
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1124 times
Been thanked: 4773 times

Re: Livemap Navigation Browser Addon (v0.6)

Postby HavanaDay » Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:00 pm

Is this broken for anyone else today? Tried to do directions from Charlotte, NC to Upper Marlboro, MD and the direction list seems to be working just getting a lot of the text "none" listed for non existant turns.

Never seen that before.
HavanaDay
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 6:08 pm
Location: Midland, NC
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 212 times

Re: Livemap Navigation Browser Addon (v0.6)

Postby Caradellino » Tue Nov 13, 2012 8:33 pm

Thanks for the info, Alan...

Somehow I had a feeling, the situation would be like this...

I already suspected, the tool would mount on the basic routing done by the livemap itself - still I had a vague hope, it would do the trick by itself.

...but still a man can dream :lol:

Once again, thanks anyway for your time - especially if there have been other threads already which I have been too lazy to look for ... ;)
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2445
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 460 times
Been thanked: 1211 times

Re: Livemap Navigation Browser Addon (v0.6)

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 13, 2012 8:21 pm

Caradellino wrote:Would it be possible to apply a similar tool in the editor?

This is something which has been brought up in other threads. In short, unless the functionality is provided by Waze, we cannot build this on top of the editor map, at least not without a LOT of coding work. And even then, only roads selectable in the current view would work.

The code from this tool only uses the information which comes from the routing servers. The routing servers do not use the edit map to make routes. There is no similar functionality on the edit map.

Waze has told us before that they have this on a long-term roadmap. I would not expect anything official for many months, maybe a year or more.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23590
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1124 times
Been thanked: 4773 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abusimbel16, algirdasv, bjjohnsCool, dfortney, laurenthembprd, Olestas, trunkenbold