Regarding Railroads

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby coontex » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:20 am

So when will the railroads be displayed in the client then. We get a lot of request for them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
coontex
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1882
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 3:01 am
Location: Katy TX
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby cklj » Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:43 pm

Hi,

I've got a question regarding railroads, or actually railroad junctions.

Where I live there is a road crossing the railroad, with trains crossing very often.
In peak time you often get to wait for up to 20 min before you can cross.

Many users complain that the route takes so much longer that it would be faster to take a detour.

Now, is there any smart way to, in the editor, do something that makes the client calculate a much longer drive time if it crosses this junction?
cklj
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:58 pm
Location: Lund
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby CBenson » Fri Jun 20, 2014 5:43 pm

sketch wrote:Now could you do it on the default theme?

And the night display.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby CBenson » Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:17 pm

qwaletee wrote:Can we please remind them also that railroads should not be implemented in the client until the note feature has been in the editor for, say, 6-8 weeks?

I think the cats out of the bag on this. They say they'll remove the current display of railroads in the next update hopefully in less than 2 months. I'm not holding my breath. Nor am I leaving railroad notes on the map at this point when I come across them.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Caradellino » Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:50 am

Basically you can "store" all you identified in a permalink and kill it with just one click...;)
Greets...and keep on wazing
Caradellino, CM for:
Image
AT-Wiki | Team Austria | Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert
Australian Wiki
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4936
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 465 times
Been thanked: 1243 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Caradellino » Sun Sep 08, 2013 9:19 am

Thanks for releasing that, Shirli...

It's hard to argue common practice when the reason for the change is still classified. Now that this little background info is public, it's much easier to invoke changes :mrgreen:
Greets...and keep on wazing
Caradellino, CM for:
Image
AT-Wiki | Team Austria | Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert
Australian Wiki
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4936
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 465 times
Been thanked: 1243 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Bigbear3764 » Wed Sep 11, 2013 12:41 am

vickimachado wrote:
Timbones wrote:We use URs posted from the Livemap to add notes to the editor, which works pretty well.
Not ideal long term, but will do until Waze provide a dedicated notes interface.


Can you tell me how URs can be posted from the Livemap? Thanks.

On the live map, click on a spot. You get the balloon with Start point, destination, and report a problem. With the report a problem, click on it and you get a way to drop a UR to the update map.
Image Image
SM Illinois ILL Functional Class Map
CM North America
ILL Wiki
Bigbear3764
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 5204
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 216 times
Been thanked: 954 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby banished » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:36 am

mdavidsonjr wrote:So when will the railroads be displayed in the client then. We get a lot of request for them.


Long story, short: We do not know when.
GC, New England ARC, Veteran, CISSP, MCP
banished
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:03 am
Has thanked: 245 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby banished » Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:54 pm

As per Shirlig's first message in this thread, railroads used as notes are to be deleted (by us).

I've added hundreds, if not thousands of miles of railroads (not notes, but actual railroads), so trust we will not be asking railroad segments be deleted in preparation for their eventual return to the client.
GC, New England ARC, Veteran, CISSP, MCP
banished
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:03 am
Has thanked: 245 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby banished » Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:31 pm

The discussion was occurring concurrently in both threads. I posted in both so as not to exclude anyone based on their forum permissions. I'm fine if it is consolidated to somewhere that all can access...with the most likely place being a Wiki page.

I'm not an expert on setting up a Wiki page and have no objection if someone who does wants to do that.
GC, New England ARC, Veteran, CISSP, MCP
banished
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:03 am
Has thanked: 245 times
Been thanked: 208 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: INinja445

cron