Problem selecting horizontal segments

Request NEW features or CHANGES to existing features of the Waze Map Editor

If you think you've found a BUG, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze Map Editor forum (parent of this forum).

If you have a request for new or modified feature of the Waze Map Editor, use this forum.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Forum rules
Request NEW features or CHANGES to existing features of the Waze Map Editor

If you think you've found a BUG, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze Map Editor forum (parent of this forum).

If you have a request for new or modified feature of the Waze Map Editor, use this forum.

Re: Problem selecting horizontal segments

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Sep 16, 2013 4:35 pm

Haven't seen this on any browser but FF. But I mostly use Chrome on both Mac/Win for WME.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

Re: Problem selecting horizontal segments

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 09, 2014 4:29 pm

dbraughlr wrote:If this is a bug with Firefox, I would like to report it. But I need to be able to define exactly what is wrong.

I've wondered if this could be the case, too. The code is loading vector objects and I would think, logically, that the browser would be responsible for determining when an object is being hovered over or clicked on.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

Re: Problem selecting horizontal segments

Postby alexs001 » Thu Jan 09, 2014 8:44 am

I gave up on editing in Firefox for this very reason. Safari doesn't seem to have this problem.
Area Manager: Kelowna, BC
Image
alexs001
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Problem selecting horizontal segments

Postby Chris_CA » Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:26 pm

Many times, I cannot select segments that are horizontal (east/west) or near horizontal (say, less than 20 degrees or so).
Refresh/save/zoom in or out/move the map around does not usually make a difference.
Turned off all extensions. Same.
This happens using both FireFox & Safari on Mac OS and has been happening for + 6 months so it's not just the latest editor. Does seem a bit more prevalent as of last month or so.

If I grab an intersection or end node, drag it up or down, then I can select the segment, make changes then move the intersection/end node back to where it was.
Any one seeing something similar opr know of a fix?
--
Chris CA
Colorado Area Manager
Image Image
Chris_CA
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:46 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Problem selecting horizontal segments

Postby dbraughlr » Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:28 am

I am surprised that there aren't more editors who use Firefox. It seems that the bug could be fixed just for us quite easily by making the selectable area thicker for horizontal segments.

I would be willing to hold my control key to decrease selection sensitivity. A fine workaround would be to allow me to adjust somewhat which way is north.

Perhaps a Greasemonkey script could be made to show a handle on each horizontal segment to act as a selection target. Such could be useful to editors using other browsers in other scenarios like multi-select with very short segments.

If this is a bug with Firefox, I would like to report it. But I need to be able to define exactly what is wrong.
ImageImageѬ
dbraughlr
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:24 am
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: Problem selecting horizontal segments

Postby dbraughlr » Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:54 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:The code is loading vector objects

If someone could describe the exact technical description or point me to the code, I would compose an error report.

What weighs against this being a Firefox bug is that zooming out (Shift ↑) on the map view solves the "bug" if the road is "primary street" or higher which suggests that the problem is the line-height (thickness) in pixels. WME makes some things just too small.

Zooming in the browser view (Ctrl + or Alt-vzi) does not get around the problem with the line being too thin to select - which also points to the bug being with the line-height set by WME.
dbraughlr
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:24 am
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: Problem selecting horizontal segments

Postby Riamus » Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:12 pm

I see this often in FF, but can usually get around it by zooming in or out a little. It can be annoying when it just refuses to let me select it, but I have always managed to do so without having to move any nodes or do anything to the road. As a note, I've found that selecting multiple segments at once can make it easier to select a segment that isn't letting you select it. Then just deselect the segment(s) you don't need.
ImageImage
Area Manager: Michigan - Northern LP.
Waze running on Samsung Galaxy S3.
Riamus
 
Posts: 1043
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 7:34 pm
Location: Summerfield, NC
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 218 times

Re: Problem selecting horizontal segments

Postby Twister-UK » Thu Mar 13, 2014 2:17 pm

This appears to have been a known Firefox issue for some time now... https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=676001
L4 AM for NW London and Shetland Islands - HTC One X/Android 4.1.1
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ userscripts.org and Chrome Web Store
Twister-UK
 
Posts: 858
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 325 times


Return to WME Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users