New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Moderators: Unholy, orit_y

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby davipt » Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:29 pm

berestovskyy wrote:I'm not sure when it went live, since I missed an announcement as well. But this morning one polish guy complained that everything we've discussed on a forum still not implemented in production :(

I think it's just someone missed a branch name or smth :lol:


But is it the polish version more updated on beta than live? Because the portuguese version was updated *once*, one month ago, and it's the same old version both on beta and live.
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2742
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 563 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby berestovskyy » Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:18 pm

davipt wrote:But is it the polish version more updated on beta than live?

No, both of them are the same "mechanical" translations (i.e. english -> angielski). I saw Orit's message that the changes will be uploaded next week, so I hoped we could have a chance to check it in beta once again.

No annonce, so I think it's just someone made a mistake at Waze.
berestovskyy
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 703 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby davipt » Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:23 pm

berestovskyy wrote:
davipt wrote:But is it the polish version more updated on beta than live?

No, both of them are the same "mechanical" translations (i.e. english -> angielski). I saw Orit's message that the changes will be uploaded next week, so I hoped we could have a chance to check it in beta once again.

No annonce, so I think it's just someone made a mistake at Waze.


Ok so we're all in the same boat. Going live is not a big issue because there is no link AFAICS there, only if you know to append the country code. world.waze.com/editor doesn't show the language drop down.

But having a single deploy of the translations in more than one month gives me no willing to continue those translations. I've been waiting for the WME update to even start the website update. I'm not gonna translate random sentences without knowing the context where they appear, or be able to quickly test them on the final place. Two weeks is inadmissible. A daily update is already too long, but I could live with it.
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2742
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 563 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby berestovskyy » Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:38 pm

davipt wrote:Going live is not a big issue because there is no link AFAICS there, only if you know to append the country code. world.waze.com/editor doesn't show the language drop down.

Actually, it is showing. I even tried to logout and reload the page -- it's still there (see the attachment).
Attachments
Fullscreen capture 14.06.2013 173104-001.jpg
Language Drop Down Box
Fullscreen capture 14.06.2013 173104-001.jpg (44.39 KiB) Viewed 6746 times
berestovskyy
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 703 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby orit_y » Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:55 pm

Hi Localizers,

Translation updates in the Editor for existing languages and new languages were added:
Basque, Swedish, Norwegian, Indonesian and Latvian.

Thanks!
Orit
Image
orit_y
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:45 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 191 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby davipt » Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:59 pm

berestovskyy wrote:
davipt wrote:Going live is not a big issue because there is no link AFAICS there, only if you know to append the country code. world.waze.com/editor doesn't show the language drop down.

Actually, it is showing. I even tried to logout and reload the page -- it's still there (see the attachment).


True. It wasn't showing when I tested but it did some minutes or hours later. Maybe the html was still cached on my side, even with a page refresh. Oh well...
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2742
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 563 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby petervdveen » Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:11 pm

I think once in 2 weeks update is ok if the translation is done.

It's a shame tough that the wme was updated without a translation update.

Verstuurd van mijn HTC Sensation Z710e met Tapatalk
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 9883
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 506 times
Been thanked: 1380 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby Svenne33 » Wed Jun 19, 2013 2:01 am

Thanks for the update, orit!
Now, we'll start looking for mistakes etc.
Localization Expert for the Swedish Translation of Waze.
Svenne33
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby la-colle » Mon Oct 28, 2013 2:49 pm

Hi,

I just notice a little problem in the french translation of WME.

In the landmark edition, the english type leisure should be translate to "Loisirs" not "Loisir".

Bye.
Image
Area manager : Région Lyonnaise - Regional Manager : Rhône-Alpes
Country Manager
la-colle
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:01 pm
Location: Lyon
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 110 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby edsonajj » Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:22 pm

la-colle wrote:Hi,

I just notice a little problem in the french translation of WME.

In the landmark edition, the english type leisure should be translate to "Loisirs" not "Loisir".

Bye.

Could you please report it on your country forum? It's more probable that whomever manages the translation monitors that one.
Image Edson Jiménez

Image
edsonajj
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2571
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:32 pm
Location: México
Has thanked: 135 times
Been thanked: 976 times

PreviousNext

Return to Localization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users