[Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby leocylau » Fri Nov 08, 2013 5:18 pm

bedo2991 wrote:What does the app do?
It allows you to (I hope easily) register the position of the house numbers while you are walking.

Walking? Will it pollute the avg. speed? hm... :roll: ...should be OK, right? We won't use it everyday on the same street. Just occasionally :mrgreen:
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3623
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 713 times
Been thanked: 463 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby bgodette » Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:56 pm

Now we all just need to get our postal workers to use this app! :lol: Anyhow this is an brilliant idea for places that don't have well maintained assessors GIS maps, just walk the being/newly built subdivision.
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 537 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby bedo2991 » Fri Nov 08, 2013 8:09 am

Translations
Do you want to localize the app into your own language? Send me a PM and I'll send you further instructions. (Even for the english one, I think that that's translated badly somewhere).

Changelog
V 0.9.4
+ Improved GUI
+ Resolved some bug
+ Now you can see which number you have been registered for each street and also delete them (by long tapping)
+ Translated in: German, French, Serbian, Brazilian Portuguese, Hungarian
Last edited by bedo2991 on Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bedo2991
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:45 pm
Location: Italy, Marche
Has thanked: 293 times
Been thanked: 794 times

Re: [Script & App 0.9.4] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby bedo2991 » Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:21 pm

I updated a new version of the app on the play store (v. 0.9.4)
Changelog:
+ Improved GUI
+ Resolved some bug
+ Now you can see which number you have been registered for each street and also delete them (by long tapping)
+ Translated in: German, French, Serbian, Brazilian Portuguese, Hungarian
bedo2991
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:45 pm
Location: Italy, Marche
Has thanked: 293 times
Been thanked: 794 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby PesachZ » Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:36 pm

DauserShenkt wrote:
PesachZ wrote:
DauserShenkt wrote:I heard the UK has some scripts for adding Street Names from Govt (OS) data sets.

Is there yet a script that can add House Numbers?

This is one element that is missing from most of our roads and it would be a godsend if we could auto-pop this data. I have a source that is open to use if we attribute it under Creative Commons.

out of curiosity, how would you plan to attribute the data in waze?


Maybe something as simple as this https://www.waze.com/legal/notices


[ img ] [COPYRIGHT SIGN] State of Queensland (Department of Natural Resources and Mines) 2015

Code: Select all
[url=http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/][img]http://i.creativecommons.org/l/by/3.0/au/88x31.png[/img][/url] [COPYRIGHT SIGN] State of Queensland (Department of Natural Resources and Mines) 2015

Again that it's something that would have to be done by staff so while not impossible, you must have the cooperation and agreements from staff to use this source. They may be willing to do it but you need to communicate with them directly or through your country coordinator.

Sent from Android using Tapatalk
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4431
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC} {ARC}
Has thanked: 1992 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby PesachZ » Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:54 pm

Fafa114 wrote:Hi !

I've already heard of your script but without using it.
Now, it's done ;)

It's perfect and works fine but could you improve it to add POI ?
I've got a lot of industrial areas around me and I would like to create (at least) name of POI for companies.

Is it possible ?

Thanks.

Is it possible with the notes feature? Add a new note for each POI

Sent using Tapatalk for Android
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4431
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC} {ARC}
Has thanked: 1992 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby PesachZ » Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:26 am

kentsmith9 wrote:Ah. Now I follow. The Memo layer IS part of the House Number Extension in WME, but only loaded through the House Number App.

The same way the house numbers are only loaded through the app. The layer in WME is a display feature for content in the email string, which in turn is produced by the app.
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4431
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC} {ARC}
Has thanked: 1992 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby PesachZ » Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:20 am

kentsmith9 wrote:
bedo2991 wrote:No, it's not a future WME's feature. From the application now you can choose to add a text memo on your current position (the function is in the menu), then it will be (horribly) displayed on WME when you'll load the string.

1. I don't see any text memo field under any menu in the Client App. Is it only in the beta?
2. Somehow the "menu layer" option is only displayed when I enable this extension. Is it only me with this result?

Perhaps it is only available on the original (Android) version of the app. It is accessible from the menu.

[img]http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/29/a4aru7yd.jpg[/img]
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4431
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC} {ARC}
Has thanked: 1992 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby PesachZ » Mon Jul 14, 2014 1:30 pm

bedo2991 wrote:
PesachZ wrote:Would it be possible to increase the diameter of the bubble, or to make it wider and oblong (of it's not too hard, only when there are more than 3 digits)?
.

I quickly tried this morning but I failed, I'll try again in the future, when I'll have more free time :cry:

Thanks for trying.
One more suggesting for when you have time to play. I noticed sometimes if I'm walking fast two addresses next door to each other end up displayed on top of each other in the map. I believe this is because my location didn't update that I moved slightly between pressing 'store HN' both times. If its not too hard my suggestion would be in the script, if it sees there are overlapping entries to nudge the display over slightly so they don't overlap in the display. (I think you can look at the Junction Angle Info script, it may do this already.)
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4431
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC} {ARC}
Has thanked: 1992 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby PesachZ » Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:08 pm

Thanks for this tool. I'm just starting to test it out. One thing I noticed, the color orange bubbles are only good up to 3 digits, after that it can be hard to see
[ img ]
Would it be possible to increase the diameter of the bubble, or to make it wider and oblong (of it's not too hard, only when there are more than 3 digits)?

Thanks again for your efforts.
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4431
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC} {ARC}
Has thanked: 1992 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ErivertonMartins, jangliss, juliansean, Rampage_Rick, reuvenirony, westfordjoe