Waze on Blackberry Z10

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Waze on Blackberry Z10

Postby sdgardne » Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:53 pm

Donkeyfumbler wrote:Ah, so maybe your problem is that you are still running the official (locked) Android runtime rather than using an unlocked version like me.

Quite possibly...I had thought that the runtime they released in BBWorld was unlocked, as it indeed fixed some issues I had with other side-loads. But, perhaps it's not truly unlocked. When I get time, I'll need to do some more experimenting...hmm, "spare time", what a concept!
sdgardne
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze on Blackberry Z10

Postby sdgardne » Sun Nov 17, 2013 5:19 pm

I've now updated my Z10 to the leaked 10.2.1.1055, which includes a native side-loader for direct installation of apk's. I also obtained the 1MobileMarketplace app, which has allowed me to obtain Waze 3.7.6.0, which has installed perfectly. I've not yet tried navigating with it, but expect it shall function perfectly.
sdgardne
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze on Blackberry Z10

Postby sdgardne » Fri Dec 06, 2013 12:53 am

eryanc wrote:I'm using a Z10 with OS 10.2.1.1055 installed. I downloaded Waze version 3.7.6.0 from 1mobile app store and it installed fine. However, I noticed that when navigating, the clock on the app is behind by 8 hours. My time zone is +8 GMT. Anyone else notice this?


Yup...that's a known issue...see post 1 of this thread. I was hoping that 3.7.6, obtained as we both did, would cure it. But, alas, not.

To report further...beyond this and a sound level/quality issue via BlueTooth (well reported, with root issue being the BBOS and not WAZE), this version works great.
sdgardne
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze on Blackberry Z10

Postby sdgardne » Tue Dec 17, 2013 4:36 pm

Frchdragon wrote:I actually didn't even know that it was on Blackberry World before installing it from SNAP. I now have version 3.7.7.0 running on my Z30 and I didn't notice any problem yet, but I am still test driving it around.


Ah thanks! I hadn't checked 1MobileMarket lately to see that 3.7.7.0 was out. I am not sure which version is in BBWorld now, but the last time it was quite a ways behind from the current production versions.

Cheers!
sdgardne
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Waze on Blackberry Z10

Postby shirlig » Sat Apr 06, 2013 7:01 pm

Hi guys!

As some of you might have noticed, Waze is currently supported on Blackberry Z10 devices!

The Blackberry version was converted with the help of the Blackberry experts and is actually a porting of the Waze 3.6 Android app. It is thus designed for the Z10 touch-screen phone and not the keyboard based version. As this is the first version, there are some issues we are working with the experts to try and resolve.

The main limitations are related to the different Z10 hardware versions, whereas there are 2 early versions of the hardware (STL100-1 and STL100-2) on which the Waze porting is not working properly and a new one (STL100-3) on which Waze functions well. Having said that, there is a minimal OS version (10.0.10.648) for Waze to function properly and problems have been detected in older OS versions. OS versions are released by the different operators and as such are not under control of Waze.

Known issues (for the STL100-3 and OS 10.0.10.648 and above):
1. No scrolling enabled in the Inbox menu
2. Time on ETA bar is GMT/UTC shifted (when showing initial route screen it is correct) and so time appears in an offset (except for UK)
3. Scoreboard is not displayed
4. (Internal) GPS points are not received in time-based order (filtered in client)

All installation, crashes and voice prompts related issues seem to be linked to the STL100-1 and STL100-2 versions or OS versions lower than 10.0.10.648

A workaround which has been found to be efficient in some cases, is switching Waze to work in 2D mode map display, instead of the default 3D (this is done in the main setting menu, first setting row).

We hope you enjoy this version and will appreciate your feedback on it!
Image
shirlig
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 6:31 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 991 times

Re: Waze on Blackberry Z10

Postby shmupi » Wed May 15, 2013 2:08 pm

gabaltis wrote:great ! i just want to cheer the team for working on a bb version. I'm still using old version on my bold and i appreciate the effort even if it's only concerning Z10. Suddenly il will have a look on this z10


+1
Country Manager : Israel , Thailand , Romania
Editing expert

Nexus 4 - 4.4.2 Waze 3.7.8
Blackberry 9780 OS. 6.0.0.723 - Waze v 2.0.2.3
Samsung Galaxy 3 Mini 3.7.9.909
shmupi
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:56 am
Has thanked: 230 times
Been thanked: 83 times

Re: Waze on Blackberry Z10

Postby ShvartzBerry » Wed May 29, 2013 2:52 pm

Another issue I've noticed which seems to be getting worse is Waze's ability to connect to the network.
I have an OverDrive device for Wireless Internet I use to defray my airtime usage (Waze can rack up the airtime). So I turn my Cellular Data off and rely on WiFi. Waze will then be perpetually "Searching Network." Of course, Waze is pretty useless if it can't connect to the network. Yeah, it will still give me directions but I can do that with BB Maps.
So usually I will reluctantly turn my data on and then Waze will connect. Yesterday, approaching a real serious traffic jam and needing to know which way to go, it failed me. Even with data on and I was clearly connected to the network, Waze was continually "Searching Network."
I think this product and concept is brilliant but the solution for the new BlackBerries is half-baked, at best.
ShvartzBerry
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 1:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze on Blackberry Z10

Postby Taurec » Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:23 am

Hi,

I'm using Waze 3.6 on my Z10 since yesterday.
I drove 130KM, reported one Traffic Jam and two Red-Light Cameras. But I still don't get any points.
Is this a know bug too?

Has anyone tried to install the Android 3.7 Version (using APK to BAR Converter)?

Regards

Lars
Taurec
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:20 am
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze on Blackberry Z10

Postby tomingce » Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:32 am

so,
any update for z10 version?
really need this app
its work like a charm on my i4s and my android
but its work very lag lag lag lag lag on my z10 :|

and also,
please make a native, not porting from android app :(
tomingce
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze on Blackberry Z10

Postby Tygrin » Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:35 am

Hi guys

I install waze on my bb10 from 4 days ago, i am driving and reporting and getting points, but my only problem is: not updating my drives neither how much kilometers and paving road.

is it because of the waze updating server as i read in other posts or from a setting in bb10:
i checked the location services in my bb10 it's on but the traffic data collection is off could it be from that ? or this one only to update blackberry server regarding blackberry maps only.

Anyone from you got his drives updated on waze server with "traffic data collection " off
Tygrin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 7:46 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google Feedfetcher