Voice Commands reference

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby KuniaKid » Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:02 am

ooMikeoo wrote:I've never gotten Waze to recognize a single voice command, wondering why it's even part of the app? Siri understands me just fine, maybe Siri should be passing voice commands to the app since it seems to work very well.


Same with me, Mike. Siri works fine, even using speech to text in messaging. Waze voice command used to work for me many versions ago. Now it only works when I'm sitting in my house. Doesn't do me any good there. I have use a Composite AV cable and never have used BlueTooth. I've submitted a bug report for my issue.

What rig are you using in the car?
KuniaKid
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:18 pm
Location: Royal Kunia, HI
Has thanked: 172 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby sketch » Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:59 pm

ooMikeoo wrote:I've never gotten Waze to recognize a single voice command, wondering why it's even part of the app? Siri understands me just fine, maybe Siri should be passing voice commands to the app since it seems to work very well.

I don't think Siri supports third-party apps.

Do you use Bluetooth in your car? There has been a bug for the last few months where Waze voice commands does not work over a Bluetooth connection. The voice reporting has never worked particularly well, but voice search works quite well in my experience (provided that you are not using Bluetooth).
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6004
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1475 times
Been thanked: 2020 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby ooMikeoo » Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:01 pm

I've never gotten Waze to recognize a single voice command, wondering why it's even part of the app? Siri understands me just fine, maybe Siri should be passing voice commands to the app since it seems to work very well.
ooMikeoo
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 12:04 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby WillyR007 » Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:25 pm

I would like to tell you something I discovered when I started using Waze. I think it maybe applies to all countries except US. That's why I post it in this forum.

In the beginning, voice commands didn't work, Waze only recognized "Casa" or "Trabajo" (for Home or Work).

After a lot of trying I discovered the reason. Outside US, Google Now suggests you to have multilanguage option selected, to be able to activate 'Ok, Google' in all the screens. So did I by selecting US English as main language and Spanish language as second language. In some way, selecting several languages there makes Waze voice commands not working.

The way to solve it is selecting only one language for Google Now, and it has to match the language it is selected in Waze (I have checked this also). I have Spanish, and only Spanish, as my language in Google Now, and the same in Waze. This way, voice commands work perfectly in my Android phone.
WillyR007
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:04 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby Zm0gis » Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:08 am

Would like to use voice commands, like others said - it's safer. But i'm from Lithuania, and somehow, voice commands appears in russian language (wtf). This auto selection is crappy atm. At least give us manual pick. So we can choose which language we can hear, at least give a default - english for everyone in Europe. Like Waze says - stay safe, voice commands is the thing which makes driving safer. Imagine driving on icy road at night. And reporting about object on the road, without letting your steering wheel away. It could save your life and others too. We need it, please.

Regards,
Zm0gis
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:04 pm
Location: Lithuania
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby BarkyWoofWoof » Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:16 am

I'm in the land down under, and having tried multiple voice inflections and my best attempt at an American accent, I have had almost zero success with getting voice recognition to pick up on "pot hole".
I've tried pot hole, POT HOLE, po-thole, pottle, pot-hell, and it just does not want to get it.
I've given up trying to report potholes unless I'm stationary and I can press through the prompts on the screen.
BarkyWoofWoof
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 11:41 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby JasonN899 » Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:11 am

Thanks! This will really help!!
JasonN899
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:09 am
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 109 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby MrSugi » Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:57 pm

ozrider wrote:there have been countless reports of voice commands not working and its hasnt been resolved in the latest update. They really should address this as its dangerous to have to report things by tapping instead of being able to use voice commands!


Agreed. The more I can keep my eyes on the road instead of trying to report an issue, the better.
MrSugi
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 7:11 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby ozrider » Mon Jun 23, 2014 2:46 pm

there have been countless reports of voice commands not working and its hasnt been resolved in the latest update. They really should address this as its dangerous to have to report things by tapping instead of being able to use voice commands!
ozrider
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 2:29 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby RenoHuskerDu » Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:06 am

Waze voice commands only seems to speak the French language while in France. As soon as you touch three fingers, it starts saying something in French. This is quite unfortunate, as not everyone in France speaks French. France is in the middle of Europe and many drive thru it on the way to somewhere else.

Voice Commands needs a set language option, but so far I have not found it.

A simpler option would be to have Voice Commands pickup the language that the user has set for Guidance.
RenoHuskerDu
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 3:04 pm
Location: Alsace, France
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: georgemNinja82