Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby porubcan » Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:29 pm

I am sorry to say that, most probably, there are better gas prices apps than Waze and I would bet, some of those would have this sorted out already...

Sent from my HTC One
porubcan
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 12139
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 755 times
Been thanked: 1722 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby princerupert » Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:20 am

bedo2991 wrote:
pvaladares wrote:
zabb wrote:We have troubles in Italy to insert the prices with iOs (iPhone and iPad).
It doesn't see the numbers after the point (.)

If you type 1.879, it takes 1.000



I am using latest Android beta client (3.4.99.100) and I just have to enter the 4 digits. No need to enter "." or ","
In my client it automatically formats the price.


Note: The current version has a bug (before editing prices they have "," and after edition they have ".")

The bug reported by zabb affects only IOs market version, not android. The dot is automatically added in the ios version too.


+1
The bug is known by Waze team as reported in the Italian forum.
Please fix it.
princerupert
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby pvaladares » Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:49 pm

zabb wrote:We have troubles in Italy to insert the prices with iOs (iPhone and iPad).
It doesn't see the numbers after the point (.)

If you type 1.879, it takes 1.000



I am using latest Android beta client (3.4.99.100) and I just have to enter the 4 digits. No need to enter "." or ","
In my client it automatically formats the price.


Note: The current version has a bug (before editing prices they have "," and after edition they have ".")
pvaladares
 
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 162 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby pvaladares » Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:02 am

Bruno3589 wrote:Hi, I have problems too when trying to insert gas pricing in Italy with the Android app version.

When I am near or into the gas station landmark and I try to update gas prices, I get an error telling me that GPS is unreachable, even though it's not true (GPS is active, has signal, and Waze is using it to navigate).

I got the same error with both Waze 3.2.2.2 stable and 3.4.99.110 Beta, so I can't figure out what the problem is (I also tried clearing the cache, which did not help).


True. Today I had the same problem while updating most of gas stations in my way (maybe some anti-spam feature?).
Below I attached 2 examples

1 - Real GPS position
2 - Gas station
[ img ] [ img ]
pvaladares
 
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 162 times

Re: Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby pvaladares » Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:07 pm

Nacron wrote:
pvaladares wrote:
Bruno3589 wrote:Hi, I have problems too when trying to insert gas pricing in Italy with the Android app version.

When I am near or into the gas station landmark and I try to update gas prices, I get an error telling me that GPS is unreachable, even though it's not true (GPS is active, has signal, and Waze is using it to navigate).

I got the same error with both Waze 3.2.2.2 stable and 3.4.99.110 Beta, so I can't figure out what the problem is (I also tried clearing the cache, which did not help).


True. Today I had the same problem while updating most of gas stations in my way (maybe some anti-spam feature?).
Below I attached 2 examples

1 - Real GPS position
2 - Gas station
[ img ] [ img ]


Try look on category map search at the gas stations on the map within the app. the gas station might be placed incorrectly on the map. Discovered this when contacting support about a misnamed gas station. (sorry about the huge pics)

[ img ]

[ img ]

The red arrows point to where the gas stations should be. In the first pic, the two stations were a full block away from where they were supposed to be, so when you try to report it at the west most gas station, the gas station is not found.



Actually, the gas stations positions is good. Not a GPS related problem.
In online editor I realized the brand field was empty.
I think that is the problem.


Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2
pvaladares
 
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 162 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby pvaladares » Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:28 pm

Gas prices should save update date individually.

So I could update just today the diesel price and keep older prices from other gas types.
pvaladares
 
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 162 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby pvaladares » Sun Jun 09, 2013 10:26 pm

It should be not hard to implement this.
If there is an entry with gastype:price:date it should be easy to show it on app client.
The Wazer is already choosing the gas type to be shown in the gas stations search.
pvaladares
 
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 162 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby racerboy88 » Tue Aug 05, 2014 4:02 am

Same problem here.
racerboy88
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 3:58 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Raiden38 » Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:55 pm

In my area (Laval, Québec), Waze does not find any gas stations, even if they show on the map and i'm standing 25ft of it!!!
Raiden38
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 646
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:58 am
Location: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Raiden38 » Wed Sep 04, 2013 5:32 pm

Raiden38 wrote:In my area (Laval, Québec), Waze does not find any gas stations, even if they show on the map and i'm standing 25ft of it!!!


I found one gas station in the area and was able to enter a 4.000$ price. Then i modified it to 1.49 and it worked!

So I guess that to enable gas prices in Canada, Wase needs to:

1) Remove the original price validation. (It locks everything lower then 3$ I think)
2) Remove the last digit automaticly writing 9. We do have prices "1.474$". Now it always rounds to "1.479"

And probably make sure that all gas stations appear even if the brand is not written :)

Thanks!
Raiden38
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 646
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:58 am
Location: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 15 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot]