[Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.23 Jul 2017

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

[Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.6 Feb 2013

Postby jasonroseweir » Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:22 am

The "St" in "St Davids Dr" should have a full stop - i.e. "St. Davids Drive".

There's a long-ongoing issue with the Text-To-Speech system where it's supposed to pronounce this as Saint, but sometimes decides to pronounce it as Street.

Current UK thinking is that we should still be putting "Saint" as "St." and hoping that HQ can sort out the TTS problem properly.

[EDIT] The Scottish are a devout folk - you'll probably have lots of "Saints" around.


Ah-hah! That makes sense. Well spotted. :)

Also, looking back at my earlier screenshot, that street was also a "St" street name.

Cheers!

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:FYI, this segment needs to be fixed. It makes a "loop" but it's a single segment which wraps back on itself with only a single junction. It should be straightened out and made into multiple segments. Also, why are there so many restricted turns on the roundabout there?


Yeah, I noticed that, there are lots of segments like this around my local area. I intended to start a project to clean them all up.

The roundabout you mention, I think that was a failed use of the WME Junction Fixer script on that node. Sorry about that, I'll tidy it up just now....
Area Manager - Central Belt (East), Scotland
covering Fife, Edinburgh, West Lothian & surrounding areas (inc. Stirling, Perth, Dundee, Falkirk)
ImageImage
UK Editing GuidelinesFAQWaze - Current status
jasonroseweir
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:42 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.6 Feb

Postby jasonroseweir » Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:08 am

Hmmm,

I have checked out another example of this, as far as I can see, the segment has not got any alt names. :?

Permlink: https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&l ... =124084401
Area Manager - Central Belt (East), Scotland
covering Fife, Edinburgh, West Lothian & surrounding areas (inc. Stirling, Perth, Dundee, Falkirk)
ImageImage
UK Editing GuidelinesFAQWaze - Current status
jasonroseweir
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:42 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.6 Feb

Postby jasonroseweir » Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:50 am

Just updated to v1.6.

I am now sometimes seeing a dotted orange line, when I have the No Name (Orange) option selected, on segments that appear to be correctly named.

What does this represent?
Attachments
Screenshot_21_02_2013_00_48.jpeg
Screenshot_21_02_2013_00_48.jpeg (197.88 KiB) Viewed 57874 times
Area Manager - Central Belt (East), Scotland
covering Fife, Edinburgh, West Lothian & surrounding areas (inc. Stirling, Perth, Dundee, Falkirk)
ImageImage
UK Editing GuidelinesFAQWaze - Current status
jasonroseweir
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:42 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.7 APR 2016

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:37 pm

Timbones wrote:Rightio then. I've just uploaded Color Highlights v2.7 that adds a separate option for Ramps.

I've maybe fixed Alan's issue with localeCompare too. If not, send me a permalink of where it occurs.

:ugeek:


Thanks Tim. That will end my frustration!
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.5 Nov 2015

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:19 pm

Timbones wrote:I couldn't decide what to do about ramps, and I didn't want to force personal and local ideas on to everyone.

How about if ramps are only highlighted if Streets checkbox is selected?

Sent from my Wileyfox Swift using Tapatalk


I think that may result in an even worse conflict. How hard would it be to make a checkbox for each road type to highlight? I'm done with freeways and am working on Major Highways in my state. It would be handy to only show those so I could keep my eye on my goal rather than be distracted by everything else that's highlighted. This is a more linear project rather than something concentrated on by area...at least the way I'm doing it.

EDIT: In the U.S., we're not really putting speed limits on ramps except in the rare case where there's a regular black and white speed limit sign on the ramp. In most cases, we have a yellow sign with black lettering, which is an advisory speed and not an enforceable speed limit. I don't know how it's done in the rest of the world. That's why I was specifically asking about ramps. I'm just looking for a way to do it that won't conflict with differing rules and methods in other places.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.5 Nov 2015

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Apr 03, 2016 1:26 am

Any chance we can get a separate checkbox under the Speed Limits section to toggle highlighting of Ramps? In the US, in most cases, we're not setting speed limits on ramps, and sometimes, there's a big blob of highlight around freeways and major highways where there's a lot of ramps and it makes it hard to distinguish whether the freeway has been set or not.

Thanks!
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 1.94 Oct 2014

Postby jasonh300 » Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:12 pm

Timbones wrote:While I accept that a few places might not have any category that fits them, I think we have very many more which could but currently have a parent category. So, I still feel it's important to flag places that use parent categories, but if they cannot be changed then we'll just have to live with that.

Perhaps I could show a dashed border for these, without the orange hightlight?


How about a second checkbox that would highlight places with parent categories. That way, it could be turned on if someone is bored and wants to look deeper into those, but turned off for a quick scan of the bad stuff.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 1.91 July 2014

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:36 am

The "Recently Edited" doesn't seem to be working properly. I thought it wasn't working at all, but then I saw some segments highlighted. It does work on landmarks, but the issue is with segments.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 1.91 July 2014

Postby jasonh300 » Tue Oct 14, 2014 3:31 am

Tim, is there any way to separate locked roads from locked landmarks? The number of locked roads is overwhelming when you're trying to see just the locked landmarks.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.7 APR 2016

Postby JakArtisan » Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:42 am

I'm using Firefox 42.0. For some reason, this script sometimes doesn't load. It usually appears when I just log in, but once I refresh the editor or open another in a new tab, the highlights tab isn't there. Also, the script has a yellow background when I view it on the Add-ons menu in Firefox.

I'm wondering if anyone here had a similar issue and solved it.
Making the map of Greater Jakarta perfect... even as a low level editor :)
JakArtisan
Map Editor - level 2
Map Editor - level 2
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 1:56 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 20 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JustinS83, Michelle-S