And then we have people who respond like this, when requested politely to ask before closing an update request:
-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Are you (censored) serious?
Date: Tue Dec 10, 2013 6:34 pm
jonboykayaks wrote:I don't care. I created the request and I will close the request. Stop Being A Control Freak! I know this area better than you! Stay out of my territory. You are the area manager for Area Manager - Yosemite National Park, San Fernando Valley and Frazier Park, CA so stay away from Mammoth Lakes. I claim this area as my own and you should not even consider looking at this area on the map!
I understand full well that I can PM my regional admins in situations like this, and they have always responded quickly when I do. However, I think we do need to seriously consider some system to prevent this from even happening in the first place.
Some possible ideas:
1. Same as with map edits, an UR can only be closed by an editor of equal or higher level.
2. Once a comment has been added, nobody else can close that UR until a specified time has passed...7 days, for example, or closed by a higher level editor.
3. When closing an UR with a conversation started by someone else, rather than closing it immediately, a confirmation request is sent to the editor who started the conversation.
4. A combination of the above three might work quite nicely.
Regardless of the method chosen, I believe it will help minimize damage caused by new or destructive editors.