[Script] WME Route Checker - v1.21 Apr 2016

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Route Checker - v1.13 Aug 2015

Postby Timbones » Wed Sep 09, 2015 8:48 pm

v1.16 9 - Ignore unnamed roundabout segments when looking ahead for next street name
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 987 times
Been thanked: 2670 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Checker - v1.13 Aug 2015

Postby Timbones » Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:11 pm

It was a hiccup in the manifest for version 1.14, which I fixed in 1.15. The script doesn't really need any additional permissions.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 987 times
Been thanked: 2670 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Checker - v1.13 Aug 2015

Postby Timbones » Wed Aug 05, 2015 6:49 am

Another solution would be to replace the inner roadway with a second roundabout, connected only to the avenue at a slight angle.

Instructions would be "keep left, then at the roundabout continue straight",
or "keep right, then at the roundabout take the nth exit".

I've used nested roundabouts with success before.
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 987 times
Been thanked: 2670 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Checker - v1.13 Aug 2015

Postby PesachZ » Wed Aug 05, 2015 1:42 am

russblau wrote:
Timbones wrote:0th exit is an error in the map - you must not have two exits from the same node on the roundabout.

I'll tell DDOT that they made an error designing Dupont Circle. Which I'm sure they will enter in volume 37 of their compendium of poorly designed streets.

Or you could fix it by having a single no name segment exit that node, and then fork into the two roads. So the RA sees it as one numbered exit, and the prompt will still carry the same names do to the no name segment properties.

Sent using Tapatalk for Android
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4431
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC} {ARC}
Has thanked: 1992 times
Been thanked: 2253 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Checker - v1.13 Aug 2015

Postby russblau » Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:22 pm

Timbones wrote:0th exit is an error in the map - you must not have two exits from the same node on the roundabout.

I'll tell DDOT that they made an error designing Dupont Circle. :lol: Which I'm sure they will enter in volume 37 of their compendium of poorly designed streets.
russblau
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:36 pm
Has thanked: 189 times
Been thanked: 512 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Checker - v1.13 Aug 2015

Postby Timbones » Tue Aug 04, 2015 11:21 am

Script updated to v1.14. Chrome version will appear shortly.

  • Show 0th exit errors in red, without HTML tags leaking through
  • Only show 'exit left' for leftHanded countries and 'exit right' for not leftHanded
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 987 times
Been thanked: 2670 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Checker - v1.13 Aug 2015

Postby Timbones » Tue Aug 04, 2015 10:54 am

I'll fix the HTML tag, but I feel that the entry point is the correct place to put it as that is where the driver hears the instruction.

[offtopic]
0th exit is an error in the map - you must not have two exits from the same node on the roundabout. I suggest the 'inner roadway' should connect to 'Massachusetts Ave' a few feet before/after the roundabout, and not to the roundabout itself.
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 987 times
Been thanked: 2670 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Checker - v1.13 Aug 2015

Postby russblau » Tue Aug 04, 2015 10:21 am

Tim, thanks for the great script.

I found a couple of bugs when testing a route through a roundabout: take a look at this screenshot. First, the directions say to take the "0th exit" from the roundabout at the point of entry, not exit; second, the map label at the point of entry to the roundabout has a visible HTML tag.
russblau
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:36 pm
Has thanked: 189 times
Been thanked: 512 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Checker - v1.13 Aug 2015

Postby Timbones » Sun Aug 02, 2015 11:36 pm

New version uploaded to Greasyfork; Chrome version will be available in a few days.

  • Show "exit left" instructions (thanks FZ69617)
  • Show instruction text on the map (primary route only)
  • Follow rules for navigation instructions for unnamed segments
  • Don't show "continue" instructions for name change
  • Refactored code and general improvements
Feedback and bug reports please.

:ugeek:
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 987 times
Been thanked: 2670 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Checker - v1.12 Apr 2015

Postby crotalo » Wed Jun 03, 2015 4:40 am

awesome!!
crotalo
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 11:05 pm
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 695 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dspille, P2P1800, ply8808, RichardPyne