Voice Commands reference

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby kentsmith9 » Tue Jan 21, 2014 6:08 am

I created a Bugzilla to sync the voice commands and manually entered reports so they match both ways. Many report options are not available manually and I noted RAIN was not available in the voice commands. For those with voting rights, please do so.

https://bugs.waze.com/show_bug.cgi?id=6294
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 950 times
Been thanked: 1104 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby kentsmith9 » Tue Jan 21, 2014 6:19 am

I updated the Wiki page on Voice Commands to reflect Alan's list in the OP. I believe the current app has a few other options for triggering voice commands that are not updated on the page I updated for the tables if someone wanted to update that part.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 950 times
Been thanked: 1104 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby kentsmith9 » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:53 pm

mr5picker wrote:Edit: just realized this is probably not the best thread to post this question to. Sorry.

Another user is also reporting voice command problems at https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=78326. That thread might be better.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 950 times
Been thanked: 1104 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby kentsmith9 » Fri Jan 24, 2014 10:13 pm

JOHN-LALA wrote:another maybe off topic question: how's the voice command option enabled/disabled?

in the client?? (couldn't find it!!)

or per country preset? (like the toll road option...)

I'm drivin through Germany right now. How can we/ can I get the voice commands enabled over here?

I wouldn't mind to talk either English or German to the device...

Speaking of which: its an iPhone 4, iOS 6, system language set to British English, Waze 3.7.3.0.

ty,

Did you check the Wiki under Voice Commands? ;)
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 950 times
Been thanked: 1104 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby Knotical » Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:56 pm

I too am experiencing problems with voice commands more and more frequently. But there is a greater, more serious unintended consequence that is resulting.

As Metalmarkey has said, when the voice command problems occur, the app asks the 3 times then says cancelled.

But then something worse happens. The app appears to stop recording miles. The map still works while you are driving, as does navigation, but the tracking stops - you will see where tracking ended in "my drives".

I have experienced this several times now. I can usually close the app and clear my phones memory before restarting the app. (At a long stoplight, of course.) That gets tracking to start again.

I am using a Samsung Galaxy S4 Active if it helps.

Regards,
Knotical(2)

Designation: Mostly harmless
Knotical
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 1:05 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby KuniaKid » Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:02 am

ooMikeoo wrote:I've never gotten Waze to recognize a single voice command, wondering why it's even part of the app? Siri understands me just fine, maybe Siri should be passing voice commands to the app since it seems to work very well.


Same with me, Mike. Siri works fine, even using speech to text in messaging. Waze voice command used to work for me many versions ago. Now it only works when I'm sitting in my house. Doesn't do me any good there. I have use a Composite AV cable and never have used BlueTooth. I've submitted a bug report for my issue.

What rig are you using in the car?
KuniaKid
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:18 pm
Location: Royal Kunia, HI
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby LeighGr » Sun Feb 23, 2014 3:13 pm

Any chance of getting "Other side" added to the "Report Traffic" voice command option? Each morning I have to report standstill traffic on the other side of the road, otherwise Waze tries to routes be me back through this standstill traffic. Using the voice commands would be much safer for me to use than the multiple stabs at the "My Side" button to get it to change to "Other Side".
Leigh Greyling
Samsung Galaxy Note 3, Android 4.4.2, Waze 3.9.4
AM: Central Namibia
CM: South Africa
Image
South African Links:: ZA Wiki - ZA Forums
LeighGr
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:50 pm
Location: Durbanville, Cape Town, South Africa
Has thanked: 126 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby majorben » Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:39 pm

I noticed recently that when after Google took over and changed the app slightly by going to sleep mode, that the commands to close the app like "shut down", "switch off", etc. no longer worked or can no longer be recognized. Is there a working voice command that shuts down the app?
majorben
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 7:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby majorben » Wed Dec 18, 2013 5:34 pm

Thank you for your no help AlanofTheBerg. I did search the forums for hours and did not find anything on the topic. I was not intending to highjack this thread. I simply asked a question about a Voice Command that I thought that this topic - Voice Command Reference - was appropriate. Sorry for disturbing you. You could have at least posted a link to one of the "dozens and dozens of times" my question was asked.
majorben
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 7:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby majorben » Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:42 pm

No problem AlanofTheBerg. No offense taken. In a way, I'm glad that what I was experiencing was something that was taken away, and it wasn't something that was wrong with my phone. And yes, I do have an iPhone (4s). Thank you for posting the "bug" report. Hopefully, the powers that be will fix it.
majorben
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 7:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]