[Script] WME Validator 1.1.20 / 03.11.2016

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.6.3 (BETA) / 12.02.2014

Postby fmondini » Sun Feb 16, 2014 9:04 am

In some cases, when a segment need to be locked to a specified level (like this one, in Italy freeways must be locked at level 5) the script correctly highlight the street if it's locked at level 4 or less. But if the segment is force-locked at 5 by the Road Rank it's impossible (except for level 6 editors) to change the lock level, because in the combo box there is only a single choice, and WME do not save back the property if it is unchanged.

I think there are two solutions: (1) don't highlight the segment if the RR is high enough or (2) force in some ways the update of the lock level of the segment, maybe moving it back to level 1 and then to level 5 (or every other "creative" ways you could find) :-)

Obviously not only for freeways, but for all the street types that need a specific lock. ;)
fmondini
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:24 am
Location: Northern Italy
Has thanked: 260 times
Been thanked: 183 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.6.3 (BETA) / 12.02.2014

Postby ituajr » Sat Feb 15, 2014 7:17 am

dbraughlr wrote:
ituajr wrote:Does this mean errors on nodes outside the user's editable area are not supposed to be flagged?

Please specify that you checked the option "Exclude non-editable segments".


I did indeed check (ticked) "Exclude non-editable segments". Makes no difference to this segment whether it is on or off. After turning it back on, I cleared the report (X at the bottom of the Validator menu), dragged the map slightly, and the report reappeared. I also checked that Chrome's extensions page showed that I have Validator 0.6.3, and started a fresh editor tab to make sure I was running 0.6.3. Also checked that the 0.6.3 version number is shown on the Report page.

Rollo
ituajr
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 949
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: South Australia
Has thanked: 141 times
Been thanked: 433 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.6.3 (BETA) / 12.02.2014

Postby dbraughlr » Sat Feb 15, 2014 6:07 am

ituajr wrote:Does this mean errors on nodes outside the user's editable area are not supposed to be flagged?

Please specify that you checked the option "Exclude non-editable segments".
dbraughlr
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:24 am
Has thanked: 164 times
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.6.3 (BETA) / 12.02.2014

Postby ituajr » Sat Feb 15, 2014 6:04 am

berestovskyy wrote:12.02.2014 v0.6.3:
- UPD 'Exclude non-editable segments' option for nodes


Does this mean errors on nodes outside the user's editable area are not supposed to be flagged? Because I still get "#107 SLOW: No connection at node A" for my earlier example. (https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=819&t=76488&start=300)
ituajr
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 949
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: South Australia
Has thanked: 141 times
Been thanked: 433 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.6.3 (BETA) / 12.02.2014

Postby bedo2991 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:11 am

May I ask you to insert this error in IT? "Ramp starting with "A " instead of "Dir. "
You should highlight as errors all the ramps that start with an A followed by a blank space.
Solution: Replace A with Dir.
"Wiki" ref: http://docs.wme-tools.com/index.php/gui ... lle-strade

No rush, take your time.
Thanks!

Edit: another thing that might be useful worldwide could be a warn: "Ramp streetname is too long". (Maybe 65 chars, not to bee too restrictive). We have some editors that take all the possible destination shown in the road signs and put them all in the ramp streetnames...
bedo2991
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1265
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:45 pm
Location: Italy, Marche
Has thanked: 244 times
Been thanked: 761 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.6.3 (BETA) / 12.02.2014

Postby lg1992 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:28 am

I suggest disabling the "Less than 3 letters long street name" note for Israel. There are quite a few 2-letters words in Hebrew, and some of them are used for street names. So far I met 3 such names.
lg1992
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2466
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 9:50 am
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 310 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.6.3 (BETA) / 12.02.2014

Postby Timbones » Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:24 pm

ditchi56 wrote:2) roundabouts too small to show on app?

Roundabouts may be too small, but they will give correct navigation instructions.

I do recommend that 8m is the minimum size a roundabout should be. Smaller roundabouts should still be mapped, but drawn as large as possible. They do not have to match the aerials.
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6672
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 970 times
Been thanked: 2605 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.6.3 (BETA) / 12.02.2014

Postby ditchi56 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:31 pm

Suggestion: could it warn of

1) landmark too small to show on app? At least petrol (gas) station landmarks if not other types?

2) roundabouts too small to show on app?
ditchi56
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 4959
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 12:35 pm
Has thanked: 1115 times
Been thanked: 2073 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.6.3 (BETA) / 12.02.2014

Postby robindlc » Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:29 am

dbraughlr wrote:
robindlc wrote:Do you think it could be possible to link the language of Validator to the one selected in the WME


This could be a problem because as I understand localization, the rules applicable to roads in Spain cite the Spanish wiki and the corresponding validation messages are in Spanish.


You are right.... but...

Validation rules are per country and each country may decide whether apply to them or not...

Language translations refer to a wiki in the same language, but in most of cases in a generic way.

Ej... rule says that your segment are too big, or too short, or has abbreviations or doesn't have... (each country decides which one applies to them) but the wiki just explains how to edit the segment...

[*]What is the problem? Two drivable segments share the same two endpoints: forum reference
How to fix? Split the segment. You might also remove one of the segments if they are identical: instructions
Severity: warning
For countries: any country
[/*]


Also the very specific rules which applyes only to a country, are self explanatoires or refers to their own wiki

[*]#89 "Vers" in Ramp name
What is the problem? The Ramp name contains word "vers".
How to fix? Rename the Ramp.
Severity: warning
For countries: FR, GF, NC, RE
[/*]

[*]#54 "Węzel" in Ramp name
What is the problem? The Ramp name contains word "węzel".
How to fix? Rename the Ramp in accordance with the Polish guidelines: instructions
Severity: warning
For countries: PL
[/*]

[*]#61 Incorrect Freeway name
What is the problem? The Freeway has incorrect street name: wiki reference
How to fix? Rename the Freeway segment to a "Anum" or "Anum - Enum" or "Anum ri Dir1 / Dir2".
Severity: warning
For countries: BE, NL, LU
[/*]

[*]#80 Incorrect Freeway name
What is the problem? The Freeway has incorrect street name: wiki reference
How to fix? Rename the street to "Mxx" or "Mxx N/S/W/E" or change the road type.
Severity: warning
For countries: IE
[/*]


In a few words, one thing are the rules which applies and another the language to read the rules, which are self explanatory. References to wiki are generic just for extra support.
robindlc
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:54 am
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 595 times
Been thanked: 2129 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.6.3 (BETA) / 12.02.2014

Postby dbraughlr » Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:49 am

robindlc wrote:Do you think it could be possible to link the language of Validator to the one selected in the WME


This could be a problem because as I understand localization, the rules applicable to roads in Spain cite the Spanish wiki and the corresponding validation messages are in Spanish.
dbraughlr
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:24 am
Has thanked: 164 times
Been thanked: 98 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bjjohnsCool, carloslaso, dspille, jdelosa, JohnSwaneySunny, RichardPyne