Voice Commands reference

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Voice Commands reference (US?)

Postby mapcat » Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:55 pm

Thanks Alan!
CM, USA/Canada ∙ iPhone 5 ∙ iOS 7.1
mapcat
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:29 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Voice Commands reference (NA only)

Postby McCracken808 » Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:14 am

xteejx wrote:Indeed it does. Usually it'll say "heavy traffic reported ahead" then the recalculation beep, then the ETA change. At least that's my experience.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2


One and a half years of using Waze and I have never had the pleasure of this sequence of events. I'll hear "heavy traffic reported ahead" but never had a recalculation after.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Aloha,
Douglas


AM - Hawaii

ImageImageImage
Waze Resources:
Waze Wiki, Landmarks Guideline, Area Manager Wiki, Best Practices

iPhone 5, iOS 7.1.1, Waze 3.8, Mazda3
McCracken808
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Kunia, HI USA
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Voice Commands reference (NA only)

Postby McCracken808 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 6:05 pm

McCracken808 wrote:
xteejx wrote:Indeed it does. Usually it'll say "heavy traffic reported ahead" then the recalculation beep, then the ETA change. At least that's my experience.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2


One and a half years of using Waze and I have never had the pleasure of this sequence of events. I'll hear "heavy traffic reported ahead" but never had a recalculation after.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Okay, I have to admit this. The day after I posted this, I got one of these heavy traffic reports and an ETA update. :oops:
Aloha,
Douglas


AM - Hawaii

ImageImageImage
Waze Resources:
Waze Wiki, Landmarks Guideline, Area Manager Wiki, Best Practices

iPhone 5, iOS 7.1.1, Waze 3.8, Mazda3
McCracken808
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Kunia, HI USA
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby metalmarky » Tue Feb 18, 2014 1:13 pm

I have tried many times to report a pot hole with voice commands. I have tried saying pothole quickly (like the voice prompt asks you), pot... hole slowly. Has anyone been able to use voice to report a pot hole? It is the only thing I have found that I cannot get it to recognise, it asks the 3 times then says cancelled. All other commands as far as I know work mostly first time.

I am using 3.7.7.997 beta but I have always had this issue.
Metal Marky
Galaxy S4
metalmarky
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby moorken » Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:03 pm

it would be cool if you could record your own voice for preloaded commands, because it doesn't recognize my voice for most of them. ( probably because of my accent :oops: 8-) :evil: )
moorken
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby mr5picker » Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:36 am

Voice commands have completely stopped responding for me. Haven't seen anyone else mention these symptoms yet.
I'm running Waze version 3.7.7 but this problem started at least 4 months ago with the previous version. Basically, once I bring up voice command mode (3 finger tap or wave), I get the "how can I help" request but it fails to respond in any way to any voice input. In the past, voice command mode would close after a few failed attempts. Now, it just sits there - for hours if I let it. It doesn't tell me that it doesn't understand, it just waits. I've tried with the iphone mic and 2 different BT sets.
I've got a Verizon iphone 4 running iOS 7.0.3. Have completely uninstalled and reinstalled.
Had no problem with the earlier version on the same phone. TIA

Edit: just realized this is probably not the best thread to post this question to. Sorry.
mr5picker
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby mr5picker » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:53 pm

kentsmith9 wrote:
mr5picker wrote:Edit: just realized this is probably not the best thread to post this question to. Sorry.

Another user is also reporting voice command problems at https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=78326. That thread might be better.


Thanks. Similar in that they also can't use voice commands but different OS (I'm running iOS) and symptoms are different. I'll just start a new thread an apologize for a duplicate post ;)
mr5picker
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby MrSugi » Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:57 pm

ozrider wrote:there have been countless reports of voice commands not working and its hasnt been resolved in the latest update. They really should address this as its dangerous to have to report things by tapping instead of being able to use voice commands!


Agreed. The more I can keep my eyes on the road instead of trying to report an issue, the better.
MrSugi
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 7:11 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby Nicotunes » Thu Jul 23, 2015 7:55 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I would not be surprised if this bug causes Waze to be unable to use anything except the built-in microphone for voice command input.


That would truly be unfortunate and would make the Voice Commands unusable for me since I (and tons of others I wager) am always on BT...
Nicotunes
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 7:09 pm
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby ooMikeoo » Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:01 pm

I've never gotten Waze to recognize a single voice command, wondering why it's even part of the app? Siri understands me just fine, maybe Siri should be passing voice commands to the app since it seems to work very well.
ooMikeoo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 12:04 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 6 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]