[Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.9.6 2014-12-23

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderator: Unholy

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby HandOfMadness » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:32 pm

According to the Extensions page, I'm running JNF 0.0.7.6 on Chrome. I've run into what appears to be a rare bug, perhaps caused by using Q before all road details have loaded. Some times, when hitting Q on a red junction, I've found that one of the streets has all of its turn restrictions coming off of that segment are set to red.

I first saw this in November with a LOT of edits by a certain high ranking editor. Chalked it up to him being busy and just your normal occasional mistake, or maybe someone else messing things up since Waze doesn't record the last person to touch a turn restriction. But it was always roads showing him as the last to edit a few days before. Then in Dec I started seeing the same problem with roads last touched by a different CM. And then most recently, after I've spent a bit of time using JNF to fix red junctions, I started seeing the problem from segments last touched by me. In one case, this involved segments with a level 5 lock, and a segment I had touched just a few days before to clear up a red node. No other changes.

Usually I'm alerted to these problems by the auto-generated message from Waze that drivers are driving through a restricted turn.

I'm going to try to do more edits with shift-Z pressed, to see if I can catch it in the act.
Image
HandOfMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1703
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 343 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby iainhouse » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:19 am

Fantastic work, sir! I didn't realise quite how much I was relying on this one until the WME update broke it. :D

Now it's working properly, there's a potential problem I came across whilst it wasn't working. I did briefly see what would happen if I re-enabled the script by hacking it: this problem convinced me that was a bad idea, so I stopped using it again. But now it's working, the problem still remains.

I had to rebuild this major interchange because part of the roundabout had turned into a normal road type. If I 'Q' on one of it's junctions, your script turns the whole roundabout into ramps. I've actually set the roundabout to be minor highway, to match the MH connecting on the SE corner.

Your post says that you are using a different rule for UK roundabouts (highest type, excluding freeways), which matches the UK Wiki. However, I'm fairly sure that ramp shouldn't be included in those types.
UK Country Administrator
AM: London (DELETED), S Wales
Waze 3.7.3 • iPhone 4S (iOS 6.1.3) • Chrome/XP
ImageImage
UK WikiWaze FAQ
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 4709
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity
Has thanked: 784 times
Been thanked: 2274 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby iainhouse » Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:32 am

Hi Brian

I would like to make a suggestion for some new functionality for this script. I don't imagine it will be particularly simple, but I suspect this script is the place to add it and you're the man with the skills to do it. :D

I'm sure many editors have come across the occasional "corrupt junction": where all the geometry and turn restrictions are correct, yet Waze still will not route correctly through the junction. The solution is to note the current turn restrictions; pull each segment (including the last) away from the junction node allowing it to disappear; rejoin the segments again; move the node back to it's original location; restore the turn restrictions.

The first part of my request is a way to automate this procedure. It wouldn't be done very often and should probably not be made easy to do (to discourage people doing it when there's no point). Perhaps only accessible through a button on the left-hand panel or an unusual key combo (ctrl+shift+Q perhaps) with a confirmation pop-up before rebuilding the junction.

The second part concerns actually identifying these nodes. I don't even know if it's possible to identify that a node is corrupt in this manner. We may well have to provide you with examples to look at. :) If it is detectable, then the above methods suggested for user access to fixing it would not be necessary: the script could simply fix the node as part of it's normal fix operation.
UK Country Administrator
AM: London (DELETED), S Wales
Waze 3.7.3 • iPhone 4S (iOS 6.1.3) • Chrome/XP
ImageImage
UK WikiWaze FAQ
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 4709
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity
Has thanked: 784 times
Been thanked: 2274 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby iainhouse » Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:07 pm

doctorkb wrote:It depends on your jurisdiction.


+1

In the UK, the vast majority of currently enabled u-turns appear on single segment streets at junctions where u-turns are physically impossible. I suspect that they have all been created by users effectively doing a 3-point turn at the junction using one of the connected segments - all within too small a space for GPS resolution to see what's happened. Waze then soft-enables a u-turn.

The result is that the client will (if it wants to turn the driver around), try to route them to do a u-turn where none is possible. Of course another issue is that the client can't actually give a u-turn instruction yet, but that's a whole other discussion. ;)

At the few junctions (compared to the total number of them) where u-turns might be possible, they're specifically forbidden more often than not. That's simply because our ancient UK roads don't normally have wide enough carriageways or dividers to make it easy to do. From a UK perspective (and I fully understand that this does not apply worldwide), I would far rather JNF removed u-turns and I had to put them back afterwards - it would be the most efficient way to work here.

I'm sure we'd miss enabling some u-turns that are OK, but MPs and URs will help to alert us to the realistically small number that are actually legal here.
UK Country Administrator
AM: London (DELETED), S Wales
Waze 3.7.3 • iPhone 4S (iOS 6.1.3) • Chrome/XP
ImageImage
UK WikiWaze FAQ
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 4709
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity
Has thanked: 784 times
Been thanked: 2274 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.9.6 2014-12-23

Postby iainhouse » Wed Mar 04, 2015 1:02 am

Just to expand on that, even if Waze routes the correct way, the app may display the purple route line going the other way, leading to URs because the directions don't match the map. If a UR is reported, then in WME there may also be a conflict between the Waze route shown by the purple line and the instruction icons which are for the alternate route.

Also, the extra node will not affect exit counts because it isn't an exit. The exit count can only be affected if a segment is attached to the node - either a 2-way segment or 1-way away from the roundabout.
UK Country Administrator
AM: London (DELETED), S Wales
Waze 3.7.3 • iPhone 4S (iOS 6.1.3) • Chrome/XP
ImageImage
UK WikiWaze FAQ
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 4709
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity
Has thanked: 784 times
Been thanked: 2274 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby imrnaf » Sat Dec 21, 2013 6:59 pm

I have installed this script and i am not sure if its working as intented or not, pressing the q short has no effect? please advise.

i am using google chrome.?

Version 31.0.1650.63 m
Image
Image
Image
imrnaf
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:01 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby imrnaf » Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:31 am

u mean the script is not working as of now right?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Image
Image
Image
imrnaf
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:01 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby imrnaf » Fri Jan 03, 2014 3:50 pm

NorfolkMustard wrote:
imran222120 wrote:I have installed this script and i am not sure if its working as intented or not, pressing the q short has no effect? please advise.

i am using google chrome.?

Version 31.0.1650.63 m


Q then W

Q on its own will fix reverse connections etc

Q then W will also change roundabouts following generally accepted rules and add end nodes and 2way traffic where missing from dead ends. Be careful though, as it will remove all turn restrictions too.

An excellent script I use every time I edit.


Sir,

i tried but when i press Q nothing happens, but when i press W it works.
Image
Image
Image
imrnaf
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:01 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby imrnaf » Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:44 pm

Goodolsen wrote:I started getting an error this morning stating "WME Junction Node Fixer has failed to load due to API check: aboutToLoseChanges

Also, the Toolbox menu doesn't show up on the right hand side now.

It was working fine late last night.



same here
Image
Image
Image
imrnaf
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:01 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby imrnaf » Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:20 pm

qwaletee wrote:
ArlenBystander wrote:I am getting the following error on the beta version of WME for the USA:

Code: Select all
WME Junction Node Fixer has failed to load due to API check: wazeModel


I'm running the latest version of Chrome for MacOS and version 0.0.7.6 of JNF. FYI, I do not see the error on the regular version of WME.


I get it in production WME on Chrome via TamperMonkey, 0.0.7.6.


known issue
Image
Image
Image
imrnaf
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:01 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 8 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users