[Script] WME Validator v2020.11.1 (PLACES BETA)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby CBenson » Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:26 pm

Fredo-p wrote:
j4m35ch3w wrote:Hi berestovskyy,

Thanks for the fast fix!

On a side note, is there any chance you can allow street names (in the US) that start with "de", "de la", "del", "el" and "la" to not trigger the #170 rule? There are a number of streets in San Diego that start with those and they are 'correct'.


San Diego has them in lowercase?

Yes, there seems to be some dispute whether such streets are correct over here: https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=129&t=64303
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.9 (BETA) / 27.04.2014

Postby CBenson » Tue May 13, 2014 2:58 pm

To get the roundabout instruction to work correctly on this roundabout, I had to not have the segments connect at the same point.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.9 (BETA) / 27.04.2014

Postby CBenson » Tue May 13, 2014 6:19 pm

Certainly there is a difference between many circular intersections and a true roundabout (DC has both). (And I don't think a hamburger roundabout can function as a true roundabout.) I agree the question becomes are the instructions to "take the X exit" more clear than a series of turn/keep instructions through the intersection. At Washington Circle users seem to expect a "at the roundabout take the 4th exit at Pennsylvania Ave NW" instruction rather than a "stay to the right at Pennsylvania Ave NW" instruction.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.9 (BETA) / 27.04.2014

Postby CBenson » Sat May 17, 2014 11:00 am

lg1992 wrote:Now, as landmarks have been changed with places that have categories and sub-categories, I occasionally meet a place with a general category only. It would be nice to have the Validator to mark such places.

If done, I'd like this to be optional. The sub-categories are hardly comprehensive. Many of the places around me only have a general category as none of the sub-categories are appropriate.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 1.0.0 / 26.05.2014

Postby CBenson » Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:17 pm

kentsmith9 wrote:
ditchi56 wrote:1. The two segments must start and end overlapping perfectly. If you have the 2 degrees of separation, you risk Waze generating unwanted "keep left" / "keep right" instructions.

I believe if both road names are the same, you will NOT get any instructions. I believe this has been tested many times and is the subject of this page on turn instructions. We have reviewed this logic and now Waze is confirming it is accurate.

I think that if both road names are the same, both road types are the same and the road names are the same as the segment before the split you should not get any instructions. Merely making the names the same shouldn't necessarily eliminate the instructions. (However, for this application the road names and types should be the same for all the segments, no?) My understanding is that overlapping the segments will eliminate the instructions regardless of the road types or names.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 1.0.1 / 25.06.2014

Postby CBenson » Fri Jun 27, 2014 11:12 am

txemt wrote:Why is "same endpoints drivable segment" such a big deal? Case in point, this type of intersection or street layout is common, so why is it a big deal? The only answer to solve this is to create a node, which someone is going to come along later and delete that node, as it's part of "cleanup."

berestovskyy gave the reasons for a bunch of the checks here. Do we want to have this discussion again in this validator thread or should we take it somewhere else?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 1.0.1 / 25.06.2014

Postby CBenson » Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:55 pm

ctpoole wrote:I agree with TXEMT. If I put in a node I eliminate the same segment warning but in its place I get an unneeded node warning. I tried to question this once before but didn't communicate the problem well.

Could you provide an example permalink? I do not get this behavior from the script.

It's been recommended since I started editing that no two segments should have the same two end points. The guidance has been to split one of them so there are always at least three segments involved in any "loop." If you don't do this several minor problems can occur. First if you start or end a route on a segment that shares its endpoints with another segment, the route line may display on the other segment. Second, routes over such a segment may show using the other segment in URs. Third, if you deviate onto the other segment, it seems that waze does not recalculate the route (admittedly not a significant problem as you end up at the same point anyway).

I believe that somewhere it was explained that these issues are caused by the routing engine identifying routes by junction nodes rather than segments. Thus if you have two segments that connect the same two junction nodes, when the various display engines get the instructions from the routing engine the route is ambiguous. However, I can't remember or find who posted this explanation.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 1.0.1 / 25.06.2014

Postby CBenson » Fri Jun 27, 2014 6:38 pm

So I put a node on Vanda Ter. Validator is not showing an error for having identical adjacent segments (or any other error) to me. Is showing an error for you?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 1.0.1 / 25.06.2014

Postby CBenson » Fri Jun 27, 2014 6:59 pm

Well sure. When I started many were deleting nodes from the end of dead end segments using essentially the same logic. Then waze came in and said the end nodes were necessary. If the node serves a purpose, its not an extra node. Same here, when there have been complaints about routing to loop roads, waze says the solution is to add the "extra" node. If we only mapped primary streets and up, then there would be fewer places we'd have to check for errors. The goal here isn't to have fewer places to check for errors, its to have a map that works the best we can make it work.

Seems to me you can either change the your clean up process to comply with the wiki or get waze to change the way it handles multiple segments that connect the same two junction nodes.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 1.0.2 / 04.07.2014

Postby CBenson » Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:13 pm

We were changing self connectivity at dead ends before the direct ability to edit them was in the editor and most seem to be continuing to do so now. If the underlying routing issues have not changed, I don't see why the validator check should change. Its no different than warning us about reverse connectivity on one way roads, which can't be directly edited in editor either.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bummerdude69, Google Feedfetcher, jalondon628, Mapman44, Mythdraug, The_Cre8r