[Script] WME Toolbox

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby OyyoDams » Sat May 17, 2014 8:51 am

Hi all,

First of all sorry the bugs you might notice. For those who want a rallback, that's just not possible, because the main goal of this new version is to drop the wazeteam server, for cost reasons. That being said, I'll do my best to debug Toolbox and improve il like akways.

There was a short beta-test period, but it seems all bugs haven't been detected in time. Starting from now, when reporting an issue, can you specify your browser and its version ?

Safari version works on my side, but might be instable because it's very new for me. Chrome and Firefox versions *should* work without any issue. For Firefox, you need at least v29 of the browser.

Thanks!
OyyoDams
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 867 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby OyyoDams » Fri May 16, 2014 10:58 pm

Auto update will work for Chrome, because it's stored on Chrome store.

That's very more complicated to store it on Mozilla and Apple stores, so for now there is no auto update for Firefox and Safari. However it takes about 2 seconds to install the extension in a browser :)
OyyoDams
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 867 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby OyyoDams » Fri May 16, 2014 10:31 pm

Does anyone else experience such a bug in Safari ?
OyyoDams
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 867 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby OyyoDams » Fri May 16, 2014 8:30 pm

Hey! Big update !

Most of code rewritten from scratch! Toolbox now works in standalone mode.
No big visible changes at this time, but this was a huge work. There is no loader anymore, no access to wazeteam server.
Toolbox is now available as browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox and Safari.

All download links here: http://www.oyyodams.com/toolbox/
OyyoDams
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 867 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby OyyoDams » Mon May 12, 2014 5:10 pm

Ok I'll ask for confirmation and will fix it if confirmed.
OyyoDams
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 867 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby OyyoDams » Mon May 12, 2014 5:01 pm

Wow that's new and strange! Are we sure it's not a bug and won't be fixed by Waze ?
OyyoDams
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 867 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby OyyoDams » Mon May 12, 2014 6:44 am

That is true: a red segment in the editor won't be displayed in the client.

Toolbox is still under development, and I'm currently rewriting the code. Also I have a life and can't spend 200% of my time on this, so please be patient.
OyyoDams
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 867 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby OyyoDams » Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:41 pm

nogetandet wrote:Hi

It keep asking for the Loader-update in the WME-Beta (ROW), even it already on 1.2.4.... Just FYI..
/Dan


Oops forgot to update the "beta" version of Toolbox. Fixed.
OyyoDams
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 867 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby OyyoDams » Mon Apr 14, 2014 8:01 am

BellHouse wrote:The open "permissions" entry in the manifest.json is probably triggering the message that the extension can access all webpages. Maybe you can limit this one? I guess you need extra permissions to download the personalized script parts, but that will presumably always come from wazeteam.com .


Toolbox loader has been updated on Chrome store. Now permissions are limited to Waze site.
OyyoDams
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 867 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby OyyoDams » Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:36 am

Here is the currenty manifest.json of Toolbox:

Code: Select all
{
  "manifest_version": 2,
  "name": "WME Toolbox [loader]",
  "short_name": "Toolbox",
  "icons": { "16": "images/logo-16.png",
             "64": "images/logo-64.png",
            "128": "images/logo-128.png" },
  "version": "1.2.2",
  "description": "Adds many features to the Waze editor [autoupdate]",
  "content_scripts": [
    {
      "matches": ["https://*.waze.com/editor/*","https://*.waze.com/*/editor/*","https://descartes.waze.com/beta/*","https://*.waze.com/beta_editor/*","https://editor-beta.waze.com/*"],
      "js": ["bootstrap.user.js"]
    }
  ],
  "permissions": [
        "tabs", "http://*/*"
    ],
  "web_accessible_resources": [
    "WME_Toolbox_loader.user.js"
    ]
}


I'll take a look when I have more time, maybe by changing the "permissions" area, but currently it's already impossible for Toolbox to be called outside Waze editor.

More, there is a double security: when Toolbox main code is pulled from wazeteam server by the plugin, the server checks if the script is really called from Waze editor. If not, no code is returned.

So don't worry, Toolbox doesn't give any information to the NSA ;)
OyyoDams
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 867 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], RussPA