[Script] WME Validator 1.1.20 / 03.11.2016

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.6 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby pumrum » Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:33 pm

olestas wrote:Hiding problems in locked segments is bad. I report those to corresponding level editors in my area. You could add option that hides them by default after installation of script.. but it should be possible to change it.


Agreed. I find that the top level editors are busy fixing major infrastructure issues... It's up to us lower level editors to scour the maps looking for everything they don't have time to search for. I frequently find issues with rank 5/6 segments as the validator gets better updates. I post them to the unlock forum, and the CMs fix it when they have time. Good system.

The rank lock system is an invaluable tool to prevent damage to the critical infrastructure, and ignoring locked segments makes the incorrect assumption that the last editor was perfect in their changes :)
pumrum
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 3:02 am
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 299 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.6 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby irowiki » Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:30 pm

olestas wrote:Hiding problems in locked segments is bad. I report those to corresponding level editors in my area. You could add option that hides them by default after installation of script.. but it should be possible to change it.


That's how it was, by default. Maybe move the "exclude non editable" into the settings (where the sound setting is)
irowiki
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.6 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby JohnDoe75 » Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:31 am

olestas wrote:Hiding problems in locked segments is bad. I report those to corresponding level editors in my area. You could add option that hides them by default after installation of script.. but it should be possible to change it.


I totally agree and do the same.
JohnDoe75
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:06 am
Location: Paris, France
Has thanked: 127 times
Been thanked: 484 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.6 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby Olestas » Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:27 am

Hiding problems in locked segments is bad. I report those to corresponding level editors in my area. You could add option that hides them by default after installation of script.. but it should be possible to change it.
Olestas
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5550
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 1921 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.6 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby berestovskyy » Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:36 am

kentsmith9 wrote:Also, I searched the first post in this thread, but did not find the link to the Complete Search list.

Kent, it's always available under Settings->About->Available checks. If you click it over the US, Validator will show enabled/disabled checks for US. And I just added a red link to the OP ;)

Fabianotkd wrote:Don't limit us, please. :?

No problem, I guess we need to discuss it.

Every rule has an exception. Despite I'm doing my best to avoid false positives, they are there and they always will be. So IMO we need to agree on how do we mark those false positives on the map, so other editors do not try to fix them just because Validator says so.

For instance, few days ago Sketch posted here a link to the area where the right turns on two-way roads are disabled: permalink

So the current proposal is to simply lock those exceptions and do not report issues to the low-level users. I also significantly improves Validator performance for low-level users on low zoom levels when there are lots of locked freeway/highway segments.

Let me know if anyone has a better idea.


08.04.2014 v0.9.6:
- Fixed #170 'Lowercase street name' (but not for "U turn" I guess :lol:)
- New for US #106 'No state name selected'
- Disabled skips of locked segment
berestovskyy
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 704 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.5 (BETA) / 07.04.2014

Postby Fabianotkd » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:48 am

berestovskyy wrote:
irowiki wrote:Wait, I thought locked segments were already excluded?

They were excluded by default with "Exclude non-editable segments". Now the locked segments are excluded always.


Excuse me, but I think that this is a problem!
I'm checking a wide area and many segments are locked with 4th or 5th level to prevent tampering...
but segments are wrong.
Thanks to Validator I request the unlock and fix all problems.
The previous option, "Exclude non-editable segments" is the best one, I think.
Please, our maps are full of problems. We all have to fix them.
Don't limit us, please. :?
Fabianotkd
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:11 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.5 (BETA) / 07.04.2014

Postby berestovskyy » Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:02 am

kentsmith9 wrote:I propose the validator identify these segments without a state.

Sure, will be added. Meanwhile you can click Settings->custom and put into the "Custom template" field:
Code: Select all
${state}

then put in the custom RexExp field:
Code: Select all
^$

And you will get those empty states highlighted for you.

irowiki wrote:Wait, I thought locked segments were already excluded?

They were excluded by default with "Exclude non-editable segments". Now the locked segments are excluded always.
berestovskyy
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 704 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.5 (BETA) / 07.04.2014

Postby irowiki » Tue Apr 08, 2014 4:08 am

Wait, I thought locked segments were already excluded?
irowiki
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.5 (BETA) / 07.04.2014

Postby kentsmith9 » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:12 am

I have been working on smudged cities and found that a big source of the problems come from segments in the US that somehow have no state entered in the state name field. I don't think you can create a segment and not have a state entry, so somehow these segments get past the editor somewhere along the line.

When present they create a new city entry because that segment does not match the other segments around them. Once they are identified you simply update the segment state name. I am currently running a test in https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=251&t=81200 to track when the city layer gets corrected without posting the entries in the city smudge form. It may turn out they will not get updated ever without using the form.

I propose the validator identify these segments without a state. Further we can recommend posting that segment permalink in the smudged city form if my test results find no other solution.

Here is a segment with no state that you can test against.


Also, I searched the first post in this thread, but did not find the link to the Complete Search list. Can this link be added to the OP for simpler locating, or is there some reason we are hiding it on entry 50+ in this thread?
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5269
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1370 times
Been thanked: 1589 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.5 (BETA) / 07.04.2014

Postby Fredo-p » Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:17 am

I don't know if this was already mentioned, but the latest version is reporting lowercase issues with on/off ramps using "to" for navigation. Is this something that can be programmed to be ignored?
Fredo-p
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: AZ, NJ, NY, ND, CA
Has thanked: 270 times
Been thanked: 637 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bz2012, laurenthembprd