[Script] WME Validator 1.1.20 / 03.11.2016

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby pumrum » Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:31 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:In the thread quotes by CBenson, please supply either GIS link to city/county website showing lowercase usage or photograph of street signs showing lowercase.


Not to beat a dead horse... but given that Waze's primary goal should be to get a user from point A to point B safely and efficiently -- wouldn't it be easier to just standardize on Title Case since >99% of the USA segments already follow that standard? Why spin our wheels trying to get Validator to work around what is probably a very small corner case to get a lower case letter in a street name display, when it does absolutely nothing to aide navigation? Remember - we're navigation assistants, not government map makers :)

My opinion: if a user comes to an intersection and Waze instructs them to turn left on "Del Ray St" and the street sign reads "del Ray St" ... I think they'll figure it out. We have bigger fish to fry... thoughts?
pumrum
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 3:02 am
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 299 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby berestovskyy » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:35 pm

For US Country Managers (and not only)

Guys, have a look at the complete list of checks here: forum post

Note that some of the checks have params to configure, for instance
Freeway/Highway/Ramp/Street/Railroad names (#160-#169)
Lowercase street name (#170)
Street abbreviations (#171)
Street name spelling mistakes (#174)
Freeway/Highway/Ramp/Primary Street locks (#150-#154)
and few other

Most of them are not even enabled in US.

Here is a detailed post explaining how to enable/setup Validator for your country: forum link

I'm not editing in US, so I would really appreciate if any US-based CM could take a role of a "Validator country manager", i.e. to enable, configure and test those checks in US, distribute localization package or ask me to pull back into Validator proven configurations time to time.

Sure, I will help and support, answer and advice. Let me know if anyone is interested.

Thanks!
berestovskyy
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 704 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby atomicdecay » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:25 pm

We have similar street names in Tampa. People here synonymously use both capital spellings, but the official correct spellings are De, El, La, etc


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
atomicdecay
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:25 pm
Location: Tampa, FL. USA
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby sketch » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:04 pm

j4m35ch3w wrote:On a side note, is there any chance you can allow street names (in the US) that start with "de", "de la", "del", "el" and "la" to not trigger the #170 rule? There are a number of streets in San Diego that start with those and they are 'correct'.

Examples:
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=7&lat ... ts=6953500
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... ts=7077112
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... ts=7013094
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=4&lat ... ts=7077129
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... ts=7094876

Many thanks!
- James

The street signs appear to capitalize the first word (and every word, in fact — using a "small caps" sort of font). I would personally prefer to use title case, as in "Ave de la Garza" or "Calle del Sol" (cf. "Avenue of the Americas").

I would not object to an initial lowercase letter if it were actually represented as such on the street sign. But I've yet to come across any such street signs in reality.

Haydenray wrote:I am not finding the "Udate extensions now" button in Chrome.

Enable Developer Mode.
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1422 times
Been thanked: 1949 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:52 pm

j4m35ch3w wrote:Hi berestovskyy,

Thanks for the fast fix!

On a side note, is there any chance you can allow street names (in the US) that start with "de", "de la", "del", "el" and "la" to not trigger the #170 rule? There are a number of streets in San Diego that start with those and they are 'correct'

In the thread quotes by CBenson, please supply either GIS link to city/county website showing lowercase usage or photograph of street signs showing lowercase.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23599
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1124 times
Been thanked: 4782 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby Fredo-p » Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:30 pm

Well what does the D.O.T say? That should be the guideline to follow I guess.

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
Fredo-p
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: AZ, NJ, NY, ND, CA
Has thanked: 270 times
Been thanked: 637 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby CBenson » Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:26 pm

Fredo-p wrote:
j4m35ch3w wrote:Hi berestovskyy,

Thanks for the fast fix!

On a side note, is there any chance you can allow street names (in the US) that start with "de", "de la", "del", "el" and "la" to not trigger the #170 rule? There are a number of streets in San Diego that start with those and they are 'correct'.


San Diego has them in lowercase?

Yes, there seems to be some dispute whether such streets are correct over here: https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=129&t=64303
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby Fredo-p » Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:10 pm

j4m35ch3w wrote:Hi berestovskyy,

Thanks for the fast fix!

On a side note, is there any chance you can allow street names (in the US) that start with "de", "de la", "del", "el" and "la" to not trigger the #170 rule? There are a number of streets in San Diego that start with those and they are 'correct'.


San Diego has them in lowercase? I've seen some roads here in Phoenix that had sings with the del and la as Del and La....hmm. Need to double check some of the other #107 issues just to be safe.

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
Fredo-p
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: AZ, NJ, NY, ND, CA
Has thanked: 270 times
Been thanked: 637 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby j4m35ch3w » Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:35 pm

Hi berestovskyy,

Thanks for the fast fix!

On a side note, is there any chance you can allow street names (in the US) that start with "de", "de la", "del", "el" and "la" to not trigger the #170 rule? There are a number of streets in San Diego that start with those and they are 'correct'.

Examples:
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=7&lat ... ts=6953500
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... ts=7077112
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... ts=7013094
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=4&lat ... ts=7077129
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... ts=7094876

Many thanks!
- James
j4m35ch3w
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:11 pm
Location: Singapore
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.9.7 (BETA) / 08.04.2014

Postby Fredo-p » Tue Apr 08, 2014 4:36 pm

SuperDave1426 wrote:Fredo-p: Actually, all that did was just cause you to load the newer version, which he seems to have just put out. :-) You can achieve the same effect by going to the extensions settings within Chrome and clicking on the "Update extensions now" button. :D

berestovskyy, thanks for the fast fix!


:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
I tried doing that but nothing happened........Well at least I made my 100th post. Now 101. lol
Fredo-p
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: AZ, NJ, NY, ND, CA
Has thanked: 270 times
Been thanked: 637 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dspille, fjsawicki, mudge42