[Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.2.1 2017-08-16

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby iainhouse » Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:07 pm

doctorkb wrote:It depends on your jurisdiction.


+1

In the UK, the vast majority of currently enabled u-turns appear on single segment streets at junctions where u-turns are physically impossible. I suspect that they have all been created by users effectively doing a 3-point turn at the junction using one of the connected segments - all within too small a space for GPS resolution to see what's happened. Waze then soft-enables a u-turn.

The result is that the client will (if it wants to turn the driver around), try to route them to do a u-turn where none is possible. Of course another issue is that the client can't actually give a u-turn instruction yet, but that's a whole other discussion. ;)

At the few junctions (compared to the total number of them) where u-turns might be possible, they're specifically forbidden more often than not. That's simply because our ancient UK roads don't normally have wide enough carriageways or dividers to make it easy to do. From a UK perspective (and I fully understand that this does not apply worldwide), I would far rather JNF removed u-turns and I had to put them back afterwards - it would be the most efficient way to work here.

I'm sure we'd miss enabling some u-turns that are OK, but MPs and URs will help to alert us to the realistically small number that are actually legal here.
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 17116
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1780 times
Been thanked: 6113 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby iainhouse » Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:32 am

Hi Brian

I would like to make a suggestion for some new functionality for this script. I don't imagine it will be particularly simple, but I suspect this script is the place to add it and you're the man with the skills to do it. :D

I'm sure many editors have come across the occasional "corrupt junction": where all the geometry and turn restrictions are correct, yet Waze still will not route correctly through the junction. The solution is to note the current turn restrictions; pull each segment (including the last) away from the junction node allowing it to disappear; rejoin the segments again; move the node back to it's original location; restore the turn restrictions.

The first part of my request is a way to automate this procedure. It wouldn't be done very often and should probably not be made easy to do (to discourage people doing it when there's no point). Perhaps only accessible through a button on the left-hand panel or an unusual key combo (ctrl+shift+Q perhaps) with a confirmation pop-up before rebuilding the junction.

The second part concerns actually identifying these nodes. I don't even know if it's possible to identify that a node is corrupt in this manner. We may well have to provide you with examples to look at. :) If it is detectable, then the above methods suggested for user access to fixing it would not be necessary: the script could simply fix the node as part of it's normal fix operation.
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 17116
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1780 times
Been thanked: 6113 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby iainhouse » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:19 am

Fantastic work, sir! I didn't realise quite how much I was relying on this one until the WME update broke it. :D

Now it's working properly, there's a potential problem I came across whilst it wasn't working. I did briefly see what would happen if I re-enabled the script by hacking it: this problem convinced me that was a bad idea, so I stopped using it again. But now it's working, the problem still remains.

I had to rebuild this major interchange because part of the roundabout had turned into a normal road type. If I 'Q' on one of it's junctions, your script turns the whole roundabout into ramps. I've actually set the roundabout to be minor highway, to match the MH connecting on the SE corner.

Your post says that you are using a different rule for UK roundabouts (highest type, excluding freeways), which matches the UK Wiki. However, I'm fairly sure that ramp shouldn't be included in those types.
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 17116
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1780 times
Been thanked: 6113 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby HandofMadness » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:32 pm

According to the Extensions page, I'm running JNF 0.0.7.6 on Chrome. I've run into what appears to be a rare bug, perhaps caused by using Q before all road details have loaded. Some times, when hitting Q on a red junction, I've found that one of the streets has all of its turn restrictions coming off of that segment are set to red.

I first saw this in November with a LOT of edits by a certain high ranking editor. Chalked it up to him being busy and just your normal occasional mistake, or maybe someone else messing things up since Waze doesn't record the last person to touch a turn restriction. But it was always roads showing him as the last to edit a few days before. Then in Dec I started seeing the same problem with roads last touched by a different CM. And then most recently, after I've spent a bit of time using JNF to fix red junctions, I started seeing the problem from segments last touched by me. In one case, this involved segments with a level 5 lock, and a segment I had touched just a few days before to clear up a red node. No other changes.

Usually I'm alerted to these problems by the auto-generated message from Waze that drivers are driving through a restricted turn.

I'm going to try to do more edits with shift-Z pressed, to see if I can catch it in the act.
CM: Thailand CM: USA
Image
HandofMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 3604
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 375 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby HandofMadness » Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:42 am

jasonh300 wrote:So shawndoc, IOW, it's not working at all for you now?


Its working just fine for all the uses I listed above, which are the only way I've been using it.
CM: Thailand CM: USA
Image
HandofMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 3604
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 375 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby HandofMadness » Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:01 am

jasonh300 wrote:
shawndoc wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:The new Extended Tools breaks JNF, or at least the function of the Q key.


Which version? I'm using 1.5 of Color Highlights, .4 of WME Addons, and .7.6 of Junction Node Fixer with no problem in Chrome.


Go somewhere that nobody has done any editing...all Unknown direction and soft-restricted turns. Pick a junction and make everything surrounding that junction two-way. Then click the junction and hit Q. If the Undo Count only increases by 1, JNF is not working.


Not sure where an area like that is anymore. But I'm using it to solve soft turns, pink junctions, red junctions, and dead end streets with no end node or unknown direction just fine.

Update: Found an area where 3 unknown direction segments came together. Hit Q, got 2 edits. It changed both that were dead ends into 2 way, and the third was connected to a 2 way segment, and it didn't change. Went to where the unknown connected to a 2 way segment, hit Q and got 4 edits as it cleared up the soft turns and a U turn at that junction.

Update #2: Found a section where 3 unknowns met. I turned all 3 into 2 way. The junction showed 3 soft turns. I hit Q, and nothing happened.

Update #3: I disabled WME addons, reloaded the page, and repeated what I did in update 2 above. I got the exact same behavior.
CM: Thailand CM: USA
Image
HandofMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 3604
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 375 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby HandofMadness » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:38 pm

jasonh300 wrote:The new Extended Tools breaks JNF, or at least the function of the Q key.


Which version? I'm using 1.5 of Color Highlights, .4 of WME Addons, and .7.6 of Junction Node Fixer with no problem in Chrome.
CM: Thailand CM: USA
Image
HandofMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 3604
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 375 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby HandofMadness » Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:49 pm

That's a function of the highlighter script.
CM: Thailand CM: USA
Image
HandofMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 3604
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 375 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.8.2 2014-01-29

Postby goodolsen » Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:23 pm

Do you have more than one version of JNF installed?

Not sure how it works on FF, but on Chrome you can have more than one version.
Toby G.
Raleigh Area
ImageImage
goodolsen
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 8:53 pm
Location: North Carolina
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.8.2 2014-01-29

Postby goodolsen » Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:19 pm

What happens if you uncheck the Developer Mode option?
Toby G.
Raleigh Area
ImageImage
goodolsen
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 8:53 pm
Location: North Carolina
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 6 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users