Regarding Railroads

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby dknight212 » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:47 am

petervdveen wrote:As soon as it will happen, we will ask for a complete removal of all railroads.
Or we ask for a rule in the validator and remove them manualy in a few hours ;-)


How hard can it be to remove these notes?
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 471 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby dknight212 » Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:11 am

Surely better to get rid of them now and have one less excuse for Waze procrastination...

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 471 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby dmcconachie » Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:04 am

Conversely I would say the argument that some editors may not see the UR layer is very MINOR vs the advantages of the UR comment system over the Railroad system. The latter is just crude, the former is not only better but also allows us to add (/keep), an albeit minor, feature in the client.
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6107
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 301 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby dmcconachie » Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:29 am

Fredo-p wrote:So, if it's been posted before, I can't seem to find it, could the champs kind of "remind" the Waze team about the need for notes? :D

We do. Roughly 2-300 times a day between us.
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6107
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 301 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby dmcconachie » Fri Jun 20, 2014 3:08 pm

Dave2084 created a reasonable schema...
Image

We forwarded to HQ who are taking it into consideration.
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6107
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 301 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Dogshrink » Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:35 am

I'm probably just reiterating different parts of what others have already stated, but at least my thoughts will be in one place:
1) Railroads are good for navigation on the client, as recognizable points on the map.
2) If the client is used on a train, the path matching the railroad segments should be invalid for paving, miles traveled, and map editor areas.
3) Parallel train and road segments may cause a problem in terms of knowing if the user is on the road or train, but knowable as the entire route will not be parallel to the tracks if on a road. There is an algorithm that coders can figure out.

Those are my thoughts. Use them as you will.
Jeff
Jeff Cushner
South Whitehall, PA
State Manager, Pennsylvania
Image ImageImageImage
Dogshrink
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:27 pm
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Has thanked: 71 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby egadgetguy » Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:20 am

I have a railroad question and I don't know where to go. In my town there are many railroad crossing, but I am noticing the railroads are at -5 level and locked to 5. There needs to be some kind of warning that this is a crossing and not a bridge. This is a much more important safety issue than even red lights..
egadgetguy
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Auburn, AL
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby foxitrot » Mon Sep 16, 2013 8:15 am

shirlig wrote:...we plan to add road types to the map soon...
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new social Android 3.9.xx.yyy (SG-A2 JealousBin).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5903
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1287 times
Been thanked: 642 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Fredo-p » Wed Jun 18, 2014 7:51 pm

Timbones wrote:Spotted in the 3.8 client today (Intl server, default theme), guess what type of segments are shown here...

[attachment=-1]uploadfromtaptalk1403119059300.jpg[/attachment]


It's being discussed in a few threads. If you notice, the railroads appear much like roads. So it could be confusing to some. Hope there is a change down the line to fix this issue.
Image
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
WME βeta Tester
Waze Map Editor | Arizona Wiki | Waze Arizona G+
VZ Droid 4 |Waze v3.9.3.0
Fredo-p
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: AZ, NJ, NY, ND
Has thanked: 205 times
Been thanked: 335 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Fredo-p » Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:25 am

kentsmith9 wrote:The UR hack is clever, but the key point of the notes on railroads was to communicate to the entry level editors who do not use any of our cool tools in the first place and may not even know about the UR layer.

Plain and simple:

1. We need a solution to guarantee new editors see a note.
2. (IMO) Seeing a railroad on the map is a very MINOR aid to navigation vs. the ability to communicate with a novice editor who is going to screw up the map.

Therefore keep the railroad invisible UNTIL we have a tool to guarantee communication to 100% of the users as an alternative to the current method that uses the Railroad segment.


I recommended an interactive note feature on the request thread https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=656&t=96911and got this reply:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:It's already been posted before (I think!?) that Waze is working on notes implementation in the editor.


So, if it's been posted before, I can't seem to find it, could the champs kind of "remind" the Waze team about the need for notes? :D
Image
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
WME βeta Tester
Waze Map Editor | Arizona Wiki | Waze Arizona G+
VZ Droid 4 |Waze v3.9.3.0
Fredo-p
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: AZ, NJ, NY, ND
Has thanked: 205 times
Been thanked: 335 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Da_Waffle, Trallallen