[Script] UROverview Plus v3.102 (20170316)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] UROverview Plus v3.31 (20141103)

Postby Twister-UK » Mon Dec 01, 2014 7:53 pm

Wrong thread I think, PM links are added by WMETB, not URO+
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2527
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 369 times
Been thanked: 2181 times

Re: [Script] UROverview Plus v3.31 (20141103)

Postby voludu2 » Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:46 pm

Request for Enhancement:

In all the "PM" permalinks, please include the mapUpdateRequest= bit in the permalink.
I always go and copy this from the popup. I find it really useful to be able to link to the specific UR, if it still exists.

Thanks for a very useful tool.
voludu2
Map Editor - Level 5
Map Editor - Level 5
 
Posts: 2402
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:33 pm
Location: Chester County, Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 498 times
Been thanked: 753 times

Re: [Script] UROverview Plus v3.31 (20141103)

Postby Thortok2000 » Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:12 am

Easiest solution is to deal with as many UR's as possible so it gets back under the amount that causes WME to hide some. =P
Thortok2000
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 1:01 am
Location: Greenville, SC
Has thanked: 190 times
Been thanked: 141 times

Re: [Script] UROverview Plus v3.31 (20141103)

Postby PesachZ » Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:29 am

FYI I think the limit set for displayed URs by WME is 500, (before URO+ filters obviously)

Sent using Tapatalk for Android 4.4.2
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC} {ARC}
Has thanked: 1988 times
Been thanked: 2223 times

Re: [Script] UROverview Plus v3.31 (20141103)

Postby taco909 » Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:28 am

bz2012 wrote:I don't guess it would be worth the effort to have URO+ briefly 'zoom in' and update the database and then zoom back out.

It wouldn't matter.
You would be able to see it courtesy URO+, but you would not be able to open it because to WME, it is not there.
It MIGHT be possible for URO+ to cache the PL, allowing a load via "open in new window"... but honestly, in an area with enough URs to create the display limitation issue, you'd be talking about caching hundreds of PLs, which would REALLY bog down the system.
taco909
Map Editor - Level 4
Map Editor - Level 4
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:05 am
Location: Los Angeles Area
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 641 times

Re: [Script] UROverview Plus v3.31 (20141103)

Postby bz2012 » Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:38 am

I don't guess it would be worth the effort to have URO+ briefly 'zoom in' and update the database and then zoom back out.

It would be MUCH SIMPLER if those at WAZE coordinated things with the users and those that have spent much time and effort to enhance WME.

SO much easier. :)
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1474
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1174 times
Been thanked: 274 times

Re: [Script] UROverview Plus v3.31 (20141103)

Postby sketch » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:43 pm

I suppose it might be nice if those URs were displayed at something like 30% opacity?

In a way, at least. To be honest I think it would just bog the editor down more than it already is with all these darn scripts I'm running...
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5907
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1417 times
Been thanked: 1929 times

Re: [Script] UROverview Plus v3.31 (20141103)

Postby Twister-UK » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:33 pm

That would allow the markers to remain on display, but they'd just be for show without any of the underlying UR functionality provided by WME - i.e. you wouldn't be able to comment, mark them as closed etc.

Whilst it might be of some use to keep them visible at least to act as a reminder that you ought to zoom into that area so WME could display them properly, I'm not sure the effort required to make it work sufficiently seamlessly with the native UR display routines would be justified.
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2527
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 369 times
Been thanked: 2181 times

Re: [Script] UROverview Plus v3.31 (20141103)

Postby bz2012 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:14 pm

Perhaps URO+ could 'cache' the data and NOT throw it away when WME trashes it? Adding the cached data to the latest refresh UNTIL the next move?
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1474
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1174 times
Been thanked: 274 times

Re: [Script] UROverview Plus v3.31 (20141103)

Postby Twister-UK » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:53 pm

I've replicated this behaviour in London, and you can blame WME...

When WME requests UR data from the server, the request is always made for an area slightly larger than the visible map area, and the server returns however many URs it feels is appropriate for the requested area - this is the point at which Waze does its own suppression of URs in congested areas.

Now, having received this block of UR data, WME goes off and renders it all, including the URs that are completely off-screen. URO+ then does its own sweep of the UR layer, adding custom icons, mickey mouse ears etc. as required to all of the markers defined in WME - offscreen included.

When panning the map, until you release the mouse button, all you're doing is moving around all of these pre-rendered map layers. Pan far enough, and you'll notice some of the layers run out of data - the UR layer just happens to be one of them, on my 1600x1200 screen, if I pan the map as far left or right as I can go within the bounds of the maximised browser window, the UR layer gives up about halfway across the screen. Only once you release the mouse button does WME place a fresh request to the server for the data associated with this new map view. Therefore, during the panning operation, UR markers will come into view which have already been tweaked by URO+.

However, as soon as WME receives the fresh data from the server, all of those existing markers are blown away and replaced by ones associated with this new data, and if the newly served up data happens to have been pre-suppressed by the server then it's likely that some of those old markers that'd been panned into view will end up disappearing again.


This behaviour is completely reproducible even if WME is run in its unadorned, unenhanced, unbelievably plain (how did we ever manage to edit maps like this???) state, proving that it's absolutely nothing to do with URO+.
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2527
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 369 times
Been thanked: 2181 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bz2012, Google Feedfetcher, tavecar