[Updated] House Numbers in WME

Moderator: Unholy

Re: [Updated] House Numbers in WME

Postby Bigbear3764 » Sun May 04, 2014 6:06 pm

I did a search for Bistro Wasabi and got a auto fill result right where your pin is at and it routed me right to it. But I also get an address and telephone number which aren't in the Waze pin place marker info.

Anyway, if it is routing right now, what's wrong with where it is at?
Bigbear3764
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2590
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 205 times
Been thanked: 944 times

Re: [Updated] House Numbers in WME

Postby krikketdoug » Sun May 04, 2014 2:08 pm

tonestertm wrote: This is the purpose of the "(Stop) Point" in the new Places system. If the parking lot is correctly mapped, and the Place is correctly mapped, with the Point placed on/near the closest parking lot segment, as long as you're navigating to the Place and not the Address (as described by Sketch, above) navigation should be flawless, no matter which direction you're coming from.

That is, of course, assuming you've chosen the Waze search result.... :D

(Might be nice if there were something in the auto-complete results showing from which provider each result came... off to the beta forum I go.... :) )


Agreed about wanting to know where the search result came from. I remember a ticket where the problem came from bad address information in Yelp...

I'm going to use a specific example about the larger issue.

https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-88.38 ... 88&env=usa

I had "Bistro Wasabi" with a house marker, like 4550 Algonquin road. (I haven't touched 4550 yet, because I don't know offhand what business it is, and it makes for a clearer example in this discussion.)

4550 has the end point. Reading your comments above, it sounds like Bistro Wasabi (4590) should have an end point for the Places marker, and I should be able to move it to the parking lot segment, which I cannot do with 4550.

Am I understanding correctly? If so, how to I get an end-point for the Places marker?

(And right now, the reason for the marker being at the edge of the building is to prevent routing to the service alley, which was the original reason for adding the address.)

Krikket
krikketdoug
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:01 am
Location: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: [Updated] House Numbers in WME

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sat May 03, 2014 7:10 am

Made two updates to the caveats section. One was to remove the red "dire warning" about house numbers not being used. Now that they are preferred after being modified/added in WME, that needed to be called out.

What may need more discussion/clarification is this new statement: "If an address is on an unnamed private roads and the marker is a long way from the actual house location, it is advisable to delete the Waze house number and properly adjust only the Google Maps address marker."
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4796 times

Re: [Updated] House Numbers in WME

Postby sketch » Sat May 03, 2014 2:33 am

mdavidsonjr wrote:How about when you add new house numbers, does it use this new information for the navigation and override the external sources.

Yes (if the system is working as intended). Waze house numbers are used when manually added or edited in the Waze editor.
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6072
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1533 times
Been thanked: 2068 times

Re: [Updated] House Numbers in WME

Postby tonestertm » Fri May 02, 2014 9:08 pm

krikketdoug wrote:This business was in a strip mall with a complex parking lot. I was routed to the stop point, and then Waze quickly recalculated how to get into the lot and to the door of the business...

The way around this would be to be able to move the end point to the correct part of the parking lot road, but from the previous example of where I live, it seems like Waze is unable to do that.
This is the purpose of the "(Stop) Point" in the new Places system. If the parking lot is correctly mapped, and the Place is correctly mapped, with the Point placed on/near the closest parking lot segment, as long as you're navigating to the Place and not the Address (as described by Sketch, above) navigation should be flawless, no matter which direction you're coming from.

That is, of course, assuming you've chosen the Waze search result.... :D

(Might be nice if there were something in the auto-complete results showing from which provider each result came... off to the beta forum I go.... :) )
tonestertm
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: City of...um, Angels, CA, USA
Has thanked: 486 times
Been thanked: 782 times

Re: [Updated] House Numbers in WME

Postby coontex » Fri May 02, 2014 1:06 pm

How about when you add new house numbers, does it use this new information for the navigation and override the external sources.
coontex
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 3:01 am
Location: Katy TX
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Re: [Updated] House Numbers in WME

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri May 02, 2014 5:21 am

sketch wrote:I would just delete your house number from Waze and let Google take care of it.

Exactly. Once you move a house number, it overrides external searches. If the navigation is incorrect, then you can only delete the house number. Waze has said they will probably update house numbers to be able to stop on any* nearby* segment, but that isn't in the current pipeline.


*Definition TBD
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4796 times

Re: [Updated] House Numbers in WME

Postby sketch » Fri May 02, 2014 1:31 am

The endpoint can't be moved to another street by anyone.

I would just delete your house number from Waze and let Google take care of it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6072
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1533 times
Been thanked: 2068 times

Re: [Updated] House Numbers in WME

Postby krikketdoug » Fri May 02, 2014 1:26 am

krikketdoug wrote:
kentsmith9 wrote:
krikketdoug wrote:In the past Waze has routed me correctly. (I'm guessing that is due to Google's influence.) Tonight, when I looked at the map, the stop point is back on Wolcott Ave. I am unable to move it "back" to the correct position on Blanchard Dr.

Why can you not move it back and what is it that changed to route you to the wrong location now?


I can't move it back because Waze won't let me move it to a street that is different than the street Waze thinks the endpoint should be on.


Just a random thought, but maybe moving the endpoint off the designated street to another street is considered "forcing" an address change? Before it was just moving a marker which didn't need a 3rd level Editor...

Dunno. Just commenting as the additional thoughts hit me.
krikketdoug
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:01 am
Location: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: [Updated] House Numbers in WME

Postby krikketdoug » Fri May 02, 2014 1:10 am

kentsmith9 wrote:
krikketdoug wrote:In the past Waze has routed me correctly. (I'm guessing that is due to Google's influence.) Tonight, when I looked at the map, the stop point is back on Wolcott Ave. I am unable to move it "back" to the correct position on Blanchard Dr.

Why can you not move it back and what is it that changed to route you to the wrong location now?


I can't move it back because Waze won't let me move it to a street that is different than the street Waze thinks the endpoint should be on.
krikketdoug
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:01 am
Location: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 14 times

PreviousNext

Return to Wiki Updates and Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider]