Routing errors in London

[ img ]

Moderators: Unholy, Timbones

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby Twister-UK » Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:40 pm

Timbones wrote:I'm tracking a handful of routes across London, and they're all failing during the morning rush hour(s).


And the trusty old north-south route I've been monitoring in previous tests is also failing during this evenings rush hour - Error: 503|Could not find a route...
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 626 times
Been thanked: 3612 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby Twister-UK » Wed Feb 26, 2014 12:45 pm

Captured some data between 01:00 and 22:00 yesterday, which continues the trend of showing absolutely no improvement whatsoever over earlier tests - routing failed completely during the morning (07:19-09:05) and evening (16:34-18:30) rush hours.
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 626 times
Been thanked: 3612 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby Twister-UK » Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:27 am

dknight212 wrote:Yes I'm afraid Waze are still searching for a fix.


But as they're using their own search routines, they only get results in the evenings and weekends...
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 626 times
Been thanked: 3612 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby winelight » Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:23 am

Just to say that I have now experienced this myself. Well it wasn't really in London, returning from Croydon area to Watford area, so all I wanted was a route round the M25. But just got nothing from Waze until a good 30 minutes into the journey. Evening rush hour.
winelight
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 10:42 am
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby wolfsbane2k » Wed Jan 15, 2014 1:11 pm

(Not adding to addressing the subject), but thought I'd chime in and say a big thank you to those involved in this investigation. It looks like a good piece of investigation work, and that Twister-UK probably enjoyed setting up this test!
I'm very into the investigative fault finding work, and am glad to see people with better skills sets than mine working within the community in their spare time!
Mondeo Driver, lurking somewhere on the M27 but no longer editing.
wolfsbane2k
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby wolfsbane2k » Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:41 pm

Superfraggle wrote:Well as it just seems to be London, has anyone spoken to the government and explained the road structure in London seems to be to complicated for our little sat nav and the whole network needs digging up and simplyfying.

It may be quicker than the fix lol.



I dare to be rude here, but it's not just london, its england and scotland too..
Try planning from Solent Road, Havant to Applecross, Highlands ( A trip i need to do in a few weeks time) and it's bailing completely... I can sometimes route from havant to Birmingham, Birmingham to Glasgow, Glasgow to Applecross, but never a full route, which is rather annoying :(

At least on the livemap i get a "Whoa! Something went wrong. Please try again later" message
Mondeo Driver, lurking somewhere on the M27 but no longer editing.
wolfsbane2k
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby wolfsbane2k » Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:29 pm

woodvale wrote:Isn't there a limit of 500 miles on routes? It's over 600 miles Havant to Applecross so you need to split the journey into two parts.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk



You know what, i never knew that. That would explain it!
Mondeo Driver, lurking somewhere on the M27 but no longer editing.
wolfsbane2k
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby woodvale » Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:12 pm

The information that Twister is producing is wonderful, and I have no idea how it's done :? I do hope it leads to an early resolution of the problem.

Meantime, URs continue to be raised containing postcodes or addresses, presumably failed routing searches. Do we want to keep these for further evidence, or close them?

There also appears to be a spate of "off and on" routings at M25 junctions south of London (I haven't looked elsewhere 'cos that's outside my area), with two in the last three days at J6, Godstone. Are these likely to be related? I know it shouldn't happen - in the US, it appears to be illegal - but it does. Is there a known solution to this problem?

[EDIT - grammatical correction]
John
woodvale UK Champ, CM UK & Jamaica, UK Partner Coordinator, AM City and South London
Latest Waze Beta on Galaxy S7 Android 8.0
Waze FAQ UK Wazeopedia UK Forum
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
woodvale
PartnerCoordinator
PartnerCoordinator
 
Posts: 3183
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:54 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Has thanked: 652 times
Been thanked: 1072 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby woodvale » Fri Aug 09, 2013 11:19 am

Has there been any feedback from Waze on this?

I'm dealing with a UR at the moment where the user failed to get a route from Croydon Rd, Mitcham to UB7 0HB. I was able to generate a route in the middle of the day - the user informs that they failed to get a routing at around 7:30am and 4pm, which are in the "not working" time slots.

It rather defeats the primary reason for having Waze if it can't provide routes during peak travel periods.
John
woodvale UK Champ, CM UK & Jamaica, UK Partner Coordinator, AM City and South London
Latest Waze Beta on Galaxy S7 Android 8.0
Waze FAQ UK Wazeopedia UK Forum
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
woodvale
PartnerCoordinator
PartnerCoordinator
 
Posts: 3183
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:54 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Has thanked: 652 times
Been thanked: 1072 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby woodvale » Sun Nov 17, 2013 1:29 pm

Are we getting any feedback from Waze on solving these problems? It's now over 3 weeks since the last post on this thread, and we're still getting URs raised with routing problems.

About all I can tell the reporter, before closing the UR, is that the editing community is aware of the problem and working with Waze to find a solution, and to keep trying until they do get a route.

I'm not telling them that if they can't, they'd be better moving to a different navigation tool, such as Google Maps, which at least gives them a route even if it puts them through heavy traffic on the way, but the longer this goes on, the more likely that is to happen.

Can the CMs please exert some pressure on support to escalate this issue. It's only outcome, currently, is a loss in confidence in the product and a move to something else.
John
woodvale UK Champ, CM UK & Jamaica, UK Partner Coordinator, AM City and South London
Latest Waze Beta on Galaxy S7 Android 8.0
Waze FAQ UK Wazeopedia UK Forum
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
woodvale
PartnerCoordinator
PartnerCoordinator
 
Posts: 3183
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:54 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Has thanked: 652 times
Been thanked: 1072 times

PreviousNext

Return to United Kingdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users