Android v3.8.1.0 Feedback

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Android v3.8.1.0 Feedback

Postby mjdoom » Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:21 pm

PesachZ wrote:
mjdoom wrote:I am not sure if this is specific to this version but sketch asked me to post here from WME. The current voice behavior as it relates to roundabouts caused me to take a wrong direction on a recent drive (that was thankfully easily corrected). I have attached an image of the relevant section of the drive to this post.

I was travelling southbound on Rockwood Rd. heading toward North St. southbound. Our hypothesis is that the first roundabout was handled "silently" by the client since I was going straight through to the opposite side and so the direction I heard was to take the "3rd exit from the roundabout". Unfortunately this caused me to take the 3rd exit from the first roundabout on to Main St. which caused a bit of a diversion off of the numbered highway I was travelling on.

I am not sure what the answer is here since using directionals strictly on roundabouts may be confusing with "right/left" but maybe if there is a way to make it still give a direction on "straight" roundabouts so I still would have gotten "take the 2nd exit at the round about, then, take the 3rd exit at the roundabout" I would have continued travelling on the intended path.

Just as you entered the first roundabout, you should have heard just the two words "continue straight".

Because this is consisted continuing along the same road, Waze ignores it in the next instruction scheme. So you'll hear the instruction for the turn following the straight roundabout from after the last turn before the roundabouts. (I hope that wasn't too confusing). Then as you ensure the straight roundabout you should hear one announcement to continue straight if you have TTS on.

I too find this confusing and complained about it a while back. I think the roundabout command on the tts/routing server need to be altered to give full instructions for every roundabout. However that could become annoying for those driving in areas where every intersection is a calming circle set up as a roundabout in Waze.


Yeah, I am not sure what the "best" solution is here. I personally would err on the side of too many messages (although even I get annoyed by lots of quick turns or exit "turns" piling up in the TTS) than too few if it will cause navigation errors but I could see it going either way. Unless there is some way to add a new road type for roundabouts (that would not be used in places like calming circles that would still act as they are now as "roads") but that might be more work than it is worth especially with the need for so many updates then to implement it or if there is some other novel solution that I haven't thought of yet.
mjdoom
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 5:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android v3.8.1.0 Feedback

Postby PesachZ » Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:24 pm

mjdoom wrote:
PesachZ wrote:
mjdoom wrote:I am not sure if this is specific to this version but sketch asked me to post here from WME. The current voice behavior as it relates to roundabouts caused me to take a wrong direction on a recent drive (that was thankfully easily corrected). I have attached an image of the relevant section of the drive to this post.

I was travelling southbound on Rockwood Rd. heading toward North St. southbound. Our hypothesis is that the first roundabout was handled "silently" by the client since I was going straight through to the opposite side and so the direction I heard was to take the "3rd exit from the roundabout". Unfortunately this caused me to take the 3rd exit from the first roundabout on to Main St. which caused a bit of a diversion off of the numbered highway I was travelling on.

I am not sure what the answer is here since using directionals strictly on roundabouts may be confusing with "right/left" but maybe if there is a way to make it still give a direction on "straight" roundabouts so I still would have gotten "take the 2nd exit at the round about, then, take the 3rd exit at the roundabout" I would have continued travelling on the intended path.

Just as you entered the first roundabout, you should have heard just the two words "continue straight".

Because this is consisted continuing along the same road, Waze ignores it in the next instruction scheme. So you'll hear the instruction for the turn following the straight roundabout from after the last turn before the roundabouts. (I hope that wasn't too confusing). Then as you ensure the straight roundabout you should hear one announcement to continue straight if you have TTS on.

I too find this confusing and complained about it a while back. I think the roundabout command on the tts/routing server need to be altered to give full instructions for every roundabout. However that could become annoying for those driving in areas where every intersection is a calming circle set up as a roundabout in Waze.


Yeah, I am not sure what the "best" solution is here. I personally would err on the side of too many messages (although even I get annoyed by lots of quick turns or exit "turns" piling up in the TTS) than too few if it will cause navigation errors but I could see it going either way. Unless there is some way to add a new road type for roundabouts (that would not be used in places like calming circles that would still act as they are now as "roads") but that might be more work than it is worth especially with the need for so many updates then to implement it or if there is some other novel solution that I haven't thought of yet.

It's been discussed to not map calming circle, rather leave them as standard intersections. However that would be worse in your situation as nothing at all would be said at the first roundabout if it was seemed to only be a calming circle .
ImageImageImageImageNYImageImageImageImageImageImage
Formal Mentoring, Wiki
Useful Wiki pages
URs & etiquette | WME | Editing Manual | Quick-Start Guide | Best Map Editing Practices | Junctions
State specific Wiki | Forum
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 3907
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {LC}
Has thanked: 1828 times
Been thanked: 1804 times

Re: Find friends from contacts - failure

Postby taco909 » Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:01 am

MarcinDrajwer wrote:Hi,

This is something I observed when I switched from 3.8.0 to 3.8.1.

In 3.8.0 when I go to the "find friends from contacts" menu, I have a full list of my contacts (~400 entries or so).

Now, with 3.8.1 the list contains only ~7 entries. At first glance these contacts are some entries in my SIM, BUT not all of them are there though. None of my original contacts are on the list now. This also means, that my already established friends' nicknames do not map to their names in my phonebook, and I lost contact photos. This does not fix itself after a few hours, that I've given to it to sync somewhere in the background whenever it wants to.

I don't even get that.
I'll manually search for a name that is in my contacts and it comes up blank.

It appears now that the only way to manually add a friend is from Facebook (I don't do Facebook), or apparently there is some way to add someone in your immediate area... as my wife was able to "friend" me and likewise I her... but I can't even search by a Wazer's username to send a friend request, and friends on the forum here do not appear in the mobile app.

For now, the add-friends function is 100% broken for those not on Facebook.
-- Rich
ImageImageImageImage
taco909
Map Editor - Level 4
Map Editor - Level 4
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:05 am
Location: Los Angeles Area
Has thanked: 690 times
Been thanked: 608 times

Re: Android v3.8.1.0 Feedback

Postby PesachZ » Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:29 am

Taco909 wrote:
MarcinDrajwer wrote:Hi,

This is something I observed when I switched from 3.8.0 to 3.8.1.

In 3.8.0 when I go to the "find friends from contacts" menu, I have a full list of my contacts (~400 entries or so).

Now, with 3.8.1 the list contains only ~7 entries. At first glance these contacts are some entries in my SIM, BUT not all of them are there though. None of my original contacts are on the list now. This also means, that my already established friends' nicknames do not map to their names in my phonebook, and I lost contact photos. This does not fix itself after a few hours, that I've given to it to sync somewhere in the background whenever it wants to.

I don't even get that.
I'll manually search for a name that is in my contacts and it comes up blank.

It appears now that the only way to manually add a friend is from Facebook (I don't do Facebook), or apparently there is some way to add someone in your immediate area... as my wife was able to "friend" me and likewise I her... but I can't even search by a Wazer's username to send a friend request, and friends on the forum here do not appear in the mobile app.

For now, the add-friends function is 100% broken for those not on Facebook.

It is working for me properly, I can add contacts from my contacts list after verifying my phone number.
ImageImageImageImageNYImageImageImageImageImageImage
Formal Mentoring, Wiki
Useful Wiki pages
URs & etiquette | WME | Editing Manual | Quick-Start Guide | Best Map Editing Practices | Junctions
State specific Wiki | Forum
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 3907
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {LC}
Has thanked: 1828 times
Been thanked: 1804 times

Re: AW: Android v3.8.1.0 Feedback

Postby tomber42 » Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:51 am

PesachZ wrote:
Taco909 wrote:
MarcinDrajwer wrote:Hi,

This is something I observed when I switched from 3.8.0 to 3.8.1.

In 3.8.0 when I go to the "find friends from contacts" menu, I have a full list of my contacts (~400 entries or so).

Now, with 3.8.1 the list contains only ~7 entries. At first glance these contacts are some entries in my SIM, BUT not all of them are there though. None of my original contacts are on the list now. This also means, that my already established friends' nicknames do not map to their names in my phonebook, and I lost contact photos. This does not fix itself after a few hours, that I've given to it to sync somewhere in the background whenever it wants to.

I don't even get that.
I'll manually search for a name that is in my contacts and it comes up blank.

It appears now that the only way to manually add a friend is from Facebook (I don't do Facebook), or apparently there is some way to add someone in your immediate area... as my wife was able to "friend" me and likewise I her... but I can't even search by a Wazer's username to send a friend request, and friends on the forum here do not appear in the mobile app.

For now, the add-friends function is 100% broken for those not on Facebook.

It is working for me properly, I can add contacts from my contacts list after verifying my phone number.
it seems to depend on the Android version, on my nexus tablet with 4.4.4 it works, on my HTC one m8 with 4.4.2 don't.. [FACE SCREAMING IN FEAR]
Gruß von Tomber42

tomber42 - Berlin -L2
tomber42
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:10 am
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Android v3.8.1.0 Feedback

Postby xorciste » Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:16 am

On the new version, can we remove the new bouton on the Screen to add a friend with the phone number?
I did not want to used it and it take place on the screen.
Thank
xorciste
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 1:49 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Android v3.8.1.0 Feedback

Postby bermm » Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:06 am

I just tried sharing my drive to my facebook timeline, and the result was the waze logo with a description of the app. I don't mind the logo and a one line ad for the app, but the focus needs to be on text like "Waze is navigating me to [location]. Click here to see my current location and ETA.".
bermm
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 4:47 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android v3.8.1.0 Feedback

Postby CanalReeds » Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:42 pm

Seems like they added a dialog on updating gas prices to prevent typing while driving. Problem is I can't get voice recognition to allow me to report gas prices.
CanalReeds
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:21 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Android v3.8.1.0 Feedback

Postby fieldenm » Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:59 pm

CanalReeds wrote:Seems like they added a dialog on updating gas prices to prevent typing while driving. Problem is I can't get voice recognition to allow me to report gas prices.


Typing while driving could lead to a crash - so perhaps it is best that you don't :ugeek:
fieldenm
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:01 am
Has thanked: 149 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: Android v3.8.1.0 Feedback

Postby IM-goRt » Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:25 pm

fieldenm wrote:
CanalReeds wrote:Seems like they added a dialog on updating gas prices to prevent typing while driving. Problem is I can't get voice recognition to allow me to report gas prices.


Typing while driving could lead to a crash - so perhaps it is best that you don't :ugeek:

And if you're a passenger?
IM-goRt
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:53 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 3 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: L337W1N, TEApartier