Waze leaving a bad taste  Topic is solved

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Waze leaving a bad taste

Postby Machete808 » Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:43 pm

I wish there was a way to get a message through to top-level Google Maps editors that they need to MOVE THE MARKERS for all airports to a sensible location. Placing a marker in the geographic center of an airport (which seems to be the pattern) is senseless, on the face of it.

I have left countless reports in Mapmaker, and it never seems to make any difference. They just sit there, pending. Airport routing should be a priority issue. Perhaps somebody is working on it, but it would be nice to get some feedback.
Aloha,
Vicki
Hawaii State Manager
Area manager, Los Angeles, NYC
Country manager, U.S.,Thailand
Image Image
Need support?
support.google.com/waze > Popular topics > FAQs > Other > Open a ticket
Welcome, new editors:
Here's a good place to start!
Machete808
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2860
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 12:36 am
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Has thanked: 241 times
Been thanked: 281 times

Re: Waze leaving a bad taste

Postby HandofMadness » Tue Jun 24, 2014 7:50 pm

The interesting thing is Google Maps correctly routes to these airports (at least the ones I've tried). So clearly there is another database field for the location information on Google's servers that is not being used by Waze, but is being used by Google Maps.
CM: Thailand CM: USA
Image
HandofMadness
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 3604
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 375 times

Re: Waze leaving a bad taste

Postby DwarfLord » Thu Oct 16, 2014 3:57 pm

Machete808 wrote:Rodgers should be the LAST turn, yet it shows on the top bar as the first one.

I've seen that too: ask for a route, and the first turn displayed has the name of the final destination street even if it's 200 miles away. Especially odd if the first turn is a freeway onramp!
DwarfLord
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4371
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:01 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California USA
Has thanked: 923 times
Been thanked: 1217 times

Re: Waze leaving a bad taste

Postby davielde » Fri Aug 01, 2014 1:11 am

Machete808 wrote:I wish there was a way to get a message through to top-level Google Maps editors that they need to MOVE THE MARKERS for all airports to a sensible location.


[img]http://i.imgur.com/nCTfg35.jpg[/img]

On a local basis, it's good to try to establish a good GMM editing history and build trust with one or two reviewers. Having more of a "personal" relationship through repeated interaction helps a lot. It's still a bear to prove a case sometimes though.
Image
CM: USA
SM: Michigan, Vermont
AM: Ann Arbor, MI & Thunder Bay, ON
WME Michigan
davielde
 
Posts: 2438
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:01 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Has thanked: 469 times
Been thanked: 758 times

Re: Waze leaving a bad taste

Postby ct13 » Thu Oct 16, 2014 5:45 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I agree with the issue here. Richmond airport is a plain pin (not blue; blue means Waze Place) and it shows the middle of the field, so is a google result. Hitting Search, of course, brings up the Waze result first, which then is much better. Someone made some updates yesterday, not sure what. I did a couple more updates today. I do see that Richmond International Airport search has the same issue and that is the exact primary name in WME.

This is a concerning issue. Why would google results be preferred for a near-exact match?


I added alt names to the airport to cover all of our bases.
ImageImageImageImage
ct13
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 820
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:59 pm
Location: Virginia
Has thanked: 148 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Waze leaving a bad taste

Postby CBenson » Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:38 pm

If the problem is that waze is routing to the Google pin, then you should submit the issue on the form discussed here: https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=105736 That is what seems to have worked for Richmond.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Waze leaving a bad taste

Postby CBenson » Sun Dec 21, 2014 11:53 am

I'm not understanding. Waze fixed it, did they not? The initial result on each list I bring up now takes me to the correct location.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Waze leaving a bad taste

Postby CBenson » Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:37 pm

Depends what you mean by a workaround. You can add a (fake) road from where you want waze to route to the near the google pin. This would cause waze to at least route through the correct location rather than the backside community. However, there are some obvious negative side effect of doing this. There is also the problem that depending on which selection is choosen you get different results. So for instance if the fake road is close to the stop point for the airport, it can adversely effect good routes that are given to those who manage to select the waze result. A further problem is that how waze routes to Google results seems to change from time to time, such as taking the street address into account for Google POIs for brief time after 3.9 was released.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Waze leaving a bad taste

Postby CBenson » Wed Oct 15, 2014 7:34 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:blue means Waze Place

I'm not getting a blue pin. Ever. Even for Waze Places.

For the autocomplete results I now get "RICHMOND airport" as the first result. This shows a pin in the middle of the airport grounds and routing to it takes me to Raines Ave in the adjacent residential community. But I can't find anything in Waze or Google capitalized like that entry. The second result appears to be the Google result for an airport in Rhode Island.

Hitting search does not bring up the Waze result first for me. The Google result still shows first under the places tab. If I switch to the Waze tab the Google result is not listed.

I agree that this is concerning. If we have a place entered correctly, the default returns should not be unidentifiable.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Waze leaving a bad taste

Postby CBenson » Wed Oct 15, 2014 3:15 pm

I can no longer reproduce this. Its possible that results are different if you are closer to the airport when you search. We need some steps that reproduce the wrong route to give to waze to illustrate the issue.

I understand that the Google result is still showing. But when I route to the Google result, I am routed to the closest point on Bland Blvd to the Google pin, which at least routes by where the waze result puts you.

Maybe we could get rid of the Google result by using as slash or space instead of the dash in the airport name. But that's just a wild guess on my part.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot]