[Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

[Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby doctorkb » Thu Aug 21, 2014 4:13 pm

Fixed version of route speeds by MapOMatic

Forum post:
https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=819&t=105839&start=170#p1560939

Working version
Mode edit: https://greasyfork.org/en/scripts/369630-wme-route-speeds-mapomatic-fork
----------------------

Edit: previous version
NOT WORKING
WME Route Speeds 1.2.6.1 is available here: https://greasyfork.org/scripts/5402-wme-route-speeds


Original authorship is by wlodek76 -- subsequent developments may have been done by someone else, we're not sure. :)

============== original post ======

Looks awesome!

One feature suggestion (that may be beyond the reasonable request -- not sure) is some way to compare two routes. I.e. be able to say "go from A to B, via C" so that we can see why a different route (perhaps the way our instinct would have taken us) wasn't chosen.
Last edited by Olestas on Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Links
Waze Global Champ
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Edmonton, AB; Prince George, BC; Maui, HI; Georgetown, KY and various places in between
doctorkb
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4240
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Has thanked: 635 times
Been thanked: 1671 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby davielde » Thu Aug 21, 2014 4:36 pm

doctorkb wrote:Looks awesome!

One feature suggestion (that may be beyond the reasonable request -- not sure) is some way to compare two routes. I.e. be able to say "go from A to B, via C" so that we can see why a different route (perhaps the way our instinct would have taken us) wasn't chosen.

+1. If there's an alternate specified in LiveMap, display that too. Also, crosstimes based on time of day?
[ img ]
CM: USA
SM: Michigan, Vermont
AM: Ann Arbor, MI & Thunder Bay, ON
WME Michigan
davielde
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:01 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Has thanked: 461 times
Been thanked: 759 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby doctorkb » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:30 pm

I'm going to revise my earlier statement:
this is FREAKING AWESOME!

One other feature idea: add a time-of-day selector that can be passed to Livemap. This will allow for even better diagnosis of strange routes at different times of the day.
Waze Global Champ
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Edmonton, AB; Prince George, BC; Maui, HI; Georgetown, KY and various places in between
doctorkb
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4240
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Has thanked: 635 times
Been thanked: 1671 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby Szata76 » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:33 pm

Great idea and implementation!

I have a problem. Same segment on same direction displays different speed depending on the start and endpoint. Of course the segment is in the middle of the route not at the ends.
Hardware: LG V30 (H930) / OS: 8.0
Editor level: 5; Area: Magyarország / Hungary ● Corfu (GR)
feedthe.waze.hu: Country Feed Manager (Roadworks reporting)
facebook.com/waze.hu ● google.com/+WazeHUN ● wiki.waze.hu
Szata76
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1662
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:07 pm
Location: EU, Hungary, Budapest
Has thanked: 323 times
Been thanked: 489 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby davielde » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:36 pm

Szata76 wrote:Same segment on same direction displays different speed depending on the start and endpoint. Of course the segment is in the middle of the route not at the ends.

That would be due to the routing request returned from Waze and not the script per se.
[ img ]
CM: USA
SM: Michigan, Vermont
AM: Ann Arbor, MI & Thunder Bay, ON
WME Michigan
davielde
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:01 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Has thanked: 461 times
Been thanked: 759 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby CBenson » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:45 pm

davielde wrote:
Szata76 wrote:Same segment on same direction displays different speed depending on the start and endpoint. Of course the segment is in the middle of the route not at the ends.

That would be due to the routing request returned from Waze and not the script per se.

I'm not understanding this (and would like to). The speed data isn't delivered with the route is it?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby davielde » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:48 pm

CBenson wrote:I'm not understanding this (and would like to). The speed data isn't delivered with the route is it?

Segment length and crosstime are, so it is easy enough to derive speed. This is available in the LiveMap now but not exposed in the user interface.

It's different than the "average speed" we used to have in WMECH, which was actually using segment attributes from the editor and not a LiveMap routing request.
[ img ]
CM: USA
SM: Michigan, Vermont
AM: Ann Arbor, MI & Thunder Bay, ON
WME Michigan
davielde
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:01 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Has thanked: 461 times
Been thanked: 759 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby sketch » Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:56 am

Amazing!! :applause:
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
assistant regional coordinator • south central region • usa
waze global champ • beta leader • tier one • new orleans
2017 chevrolet ss sedan 6mt • slipstream blue metallic
[ img ] [ img ]
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: Nouvelle-Orléans, Louisiane, États-Unis
Has thanked: 2046 times
Been thanked: 2541 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby tonestertm » Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:23 pm

SO glad you did this! It's almost exactly what I was trying to do with the WME Average Segment speed data about a year ago, but didn't have the chops. This is better, because it's based on better data. Kudos! Also looking forward to the comparative routes. ;)
tonestertm
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1290
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: City of...um, Angels, CA, USA
Has thanked: 523 times
Been thanked: 897 times

[Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby sketch » Fri Aug 22, 2014 2:44 pm

Could you include a check box to show mph instead of km/h when selected? Just divide km/h by 1.609 to get mph!
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
assistant regional coordinator • south central region • usa
waze global champ • beta leader • tier one • new orleans
2017 chevrolet ss sedan 6mt • slipstream blue metallic
[ img ] [ img ]
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: Nouvelle-Orléans, Louisiane, États-Unis
Has thanked: 2046 times
Been thanked: 2541 times

Next

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mudge42