Toll roads option in the client  Topic is solved

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby abc1357 » Wed Jan 20, 2016 12:46 am

It would be nice if we could actually see the cost of a toll road. For example if there are 2 routes that are within a few minutes of each other, but one cost is twice the other, I would like to take the cheaper one if I am not rushed. The cost will be useful if I am not familiar with the area.
abc1357
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:01 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
Has thanked: 137 times
Been thanked: 110 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Aug 02, 2012 3:49 pm

Cloaker wrote:Don't know if I'm not looking hard enough, but I didn't see a place to drop a note, but the U.S. Seems fairly complete. I believe all but 5 states are finished and those 5 are nearing completion. :) Can't wait for this feature. I live very close to a toll road and waze always wants to route me onto it.

When the US country managers, who are tracking by state, agree that we're good to go, we'll let Waze know.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23615
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4828 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Aug 02, 2012 3:58 pm

yudi9040 wrote:Could you please add Canada as well?

Please read the post on how you are to contact them about this.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23615
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4828 times

Re: Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Aug 03, 2012 3:44 pm

deeggo wrote:
MeX_DK wrote:Denmark only has one toll road as it is so :P. And sadly I cant change that since I am not AM of that area.

How about ferries or bridges that aren't free? You must have lots of those 8-)

For Oregon in the US, those are truly the only tollways we have.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23615
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4828 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:40 pm

xteejx wrote:There wouldn't be any need to not show alternatives including tolls if they were labelled or a dialog came up, maybe next to the 1,2,3 route numbers have a red T next to it?

That's the plan, but requires a new client rev.

As was proposed many many months ago, Waze should implement the option differently than simply "avoid." There should be possibly three options, similar to autozoom:
  1. Never use (never show or select a route with a toll road),
  2. Avoid (prefer non-toll, but include at least one in routes, especially if it is significantly faster at that time)
  3. Include (primary, initial route selection may include a toll road and 2 of 3 alternate routes can be tolls).
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23615
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4828 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:29 pm

Looks like US has the avoidance option now. Yay!
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23615
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4828 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:35 pm

davipt wrote:...What I would expect was a re-route where waze would try to make me leave the freeway on the next exit and then continue. looking at the map it kind of looks like it. but in practice it continues for the remaining of the segment and at the end of it (usually a junction with an entry or exit) it just says "you have reached your destination" and stops routing.

I don't think your assumption that it should route you off as soon as possible is a valid one. If you get onto a toll road, then the "avoid toll road" option becomes invalid as every single route contains a toll road because you are already on it. Perhaps there is a bug in the system when requesting a route in this type of situation. This is type of situation exactly where the group of people who wanted to mark the toll plaza/toll payment locations only as the toll road, actually makes some sense.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23615
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4828 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:48 pm

davipt wrote:I didn't mean it should really route out of the toll road, just that it should route somewhere, being continuing on the toll, or leaving it asap, but not stopping at the end of the current segment ;)

Yes, I agree.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23615
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4828 times

Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:16 pm

lakeyboy wrote:Is this something that is being worked on or is it just the way the 'avoid toll roads' feature is programmed?

This is likely part of what is being worked on. We continue to give Waze examples of bad toll routing and related issues and they claim to be working on it.


Tapatalk made me do it.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23615
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4828 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:24 am

jasonh300 wrote:They should make the Toll Roads work the same way as Parking Lot Roads. They got that working perfectly.

But it isn't quite that simple everywhere. Parking lots have an "exit" penalty. If a Toll Road is made of bits where some are toll and some are not, then this "exit" penalty would apply multiple times.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23615
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4828 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users