Wazeopedia Revamp is live! read the post and join the advanced editing webinar on Dec 4th

truck restrictions and relation to Google Maps

Post by fwillParkCity1884
I'm new to this forum so apologies in advance if this has been covered. I researched "truck restrictions" and found posts about WAZE not having a mechanism to ID segments with truck restrictions as its a commuter app. I reached out to Google for an adjustment to reroutes, they pointed me to WAZE. Hence, thought I would post here. 

Many of you will know Guardsman Pass road between Salt Lake and Park City/Heber Valley Utah. Unfortunately, when US 40 or i80 closes, this road is often given as a reroute option to motorists. It should not be and I find it a bit outrageous that there is not a solution for this. While I am still learning WAZE and how it determines route options, it would seem that some entry in WAZE or a data hook from UDOT would allow for classification of that road as not suitable for trucks. If Google is using WAZE for more of its "real time" status of roads to inform routing options, I'm of the opinion a municipality should be able to influence what roads are recommended. Especially in a case such as this when lives are at stake.

Recently a dump truck went off road coming down from Guardsman pass on the Park City side. luckily the driver survived and he drove the vehicle into a bank to avoid rear ending other vehicles in a que. He informed the police that he was "rerouted" by google to go over Guardsman and down into Park City when coming from Draper, as i80 was closed due to a vehicle fire. We all know we can't completely control human behavior and there were plenty of indicators this was not the way he should be going long before the incident occurred. But I digress.