Speed camera notification bug?

Image

Moderators: Unholy, dmcconachie

Re: Speed camera notification bug?

Postby CTCNetwork » Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:13 am

Hi,

I would question where you are and, more importantly, where your phone thinks you are. Phone SatNav accuracy is not always the best and can can be wildly inaccurate.

I find I am regularly behind on SatNav so get warnings for either cams or turns just as they are past.

Maybe try a go with GPS Test - a free app on the play store which will give you a rough idea of the accuracy of your positioning.

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Speed camera notification bug?

Postby CTCNetwork » Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:27 pm

Hi,

I can't see a duplicate cam. There is a gantry at or about where you are before the camera. Maybe it is a ghost cam still flagging warnings but has only recently been deleted?
Does seem odd though...

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Speed camera notification bug?

Postby CTCNetwork » Sat Jul 13, 2013 2:37 pm

Hi,

Noticed something similar today and previously.

Where a camera was usually being reported it now longer (seemingly) was. The next camera was being flagged.
Same cameras today and I get a verbal for the first cam and then almost immediately a verbal for the second cam removing the warning for the first.

I also notice that there is no longer a highlighting for the cam that is being identified. No flashing, concentric rings etc.

I am suspecting approach speed and the speed the camera is set to so I'll check the speed of the cams to see whats up.

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Speed camera notification bug?

Postby CTCNetwork » Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:19 am

Hi,

On a check of some other cams I passed, some had no speed set and were also pointing in the wrong direction!
There were also a couple of missing ones but I was unable to report them... I'll just have to poodle out the A614 again for a coffee!

No time I got cam warnings did I get the circling effect. And I know in Android it deffo used to happen.

{BUG ALERT!}

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Speed camera notification bug?

Postby CTCNetwork » Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:45 am

Hi,

I think I may have identified the issue here..

I suspect that you will only get the rings around the camera IF you are travelling faster than the set speed for that camera.
Gven most of the cameras in nottinghamshire are actually SPECS, it doesn't pay to be going faster at any point between them as you'll get caught! So undoubtedly I was driving like an old granny so didn't see or get any warnings about excessive speed on approach to a camera.

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Speed camera notification bug?

Postby CTCNetwork » Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:31 pm

Hi,

I'll confirm the above statement from Twister as well. First cam gets the blue throbber and then none afterwards.

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Speed camera notification bug?

Postby CTCNetwork » Mon Jul 22, 2013 11:21 pm

Hi,

Tested this now in both portrait and landscape and the same (as with speed cams too). My test red light cam has appeared and I have approved it so I'll update accordingly.

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Speed camera notification bug?

Postby Dave2084 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:07 am

I've not seen this on iOS, anyone on android (especially an S4) care to comment?

Screenshots would be useful.
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 8.1.1 • Waze 3.9.3.920 Beta
Level 6 Editor • Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2146
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 286 times
Been thanked: 277 times

Re: Speed camera notification bug?

Postby Dave2084 » Sat Jul 13, 2013 2:15 pm

I will have a look through all the Bugs posted on Centrecode and Bugzilla later and see if I can see anything similar and if not I'll raise a bug report.

One thing, on Android do you get the circles flowing out of the camera being reported on (or is that just an iOS thing). Don't see in in the screenshot.
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 8.1.1 • Waze 3.9.3.920 Beta
Level 6 Editor • Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2146
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 286 times
Been thanked: 277 times

Re: Speed camera notification bug?

Postby Dave2084 » Sat Jul 13, 2013 7:05 pm

Must an android thing?

After doing some testing today, the current iOS beta does have a new bug in that it is confused between metres and feet so the distance countdown is screwed up, but everything else seems fine in that positions are correct AND I still get the circles coming out of the camera.
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 8.1.1 • Waze 3.9.3.920 Beta
Level 6 Editor • Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2146
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 286 times
Been thanked: 277 times

Next

Return to United Kingdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users