Driven areas last approximately 90 days. “Approximately” because they sometimes don’t expire promptly when they should.
It works on a radius from the route you have actually driven, not just a case of driving in the area you’ve got. I have been down south a couple of times since using Waze, and yes that drive has expired after about three months.
To keep an area available to edit you could apply for Area Manager and you get allocated a square that doesn’t expire.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk