I have just added these three, in the correct categories, populating with names, locations, websites, phone numbers and opening hours. I feel that the Co-op and nursery are particularly relevant and that people will navigate to these, however within a minute or two of adding, someone has deleted them.
I’ve gone at this with the best of intentions, and am asking so I can learn from my mistakes and improve as an editor, as them being deleted for no apparent reason is frustrating when you’ve put work in, without having explanation as to the reasons behind it - how can I learn if they just disappear.
Any advice gratefully received, to improve me as an editor!
I’ve just checked the permalink you’ve provided here, and the Busy Bees place is still present, so I strongly suspect you’ve simply encountered one of the better known and more frustrating of WME problems, namely that after creating a new place, there’s a very good chance it won’t then show up again in WME for a period of time ranging from a few seconds through to a day or two…
Sometimes you can coax WME into showing newly created places by refreshing a few times, or by changing the zoom level, or panning the map a bit, or standing on one leg whilst wearing non-contrasting shades of ultrabeige and chanting the secret Waze Editors mantra in ancient Babylonian, backwards, with a mouth full of cold tea. But more often than not you just learn to live with it and go off to do some other editing work until WME finally deems you worthy of seeing once again the place you so lovingly created.
Finest Catch is also still present in the map data, as WME is now currently showing that to me whilst deciding to hide Busy Bees… So it does indeed just look like the “not consistently displaying newly created places” problem, rather than any genuine loss of data.
Something to be aware of here (and which has caught many of us out over the years) is that it’s entirely possible that WME will stop displaying your newly created place the very first time it reloads the map data after you save the place. What you really, REALLY, don’t want to do at this point is panic, think that something went wrong during the save, and then go recreating the place again. Because chances are if you do this, you’ll just end up with two almost identical places showing up once WME decides to stop hiding them both…
On this subject, an issue near to my heart as I am getting fed up with deleting duplicated car parks. :evil:
Please make sure you have the correct places layers selected. (best to leave them all on. ) Otherwise you will be able to see a place as you create it, until you save it - then you can’t. Also without the correct layers, you will not be able to see if there is already something there before you add it - back to the multiple stacked car park issue!!
Edit, btw, having read this again, I am not blaming you for the car parks, just using them as an example.