Connected Citizens Program

The Waze Way of free data exchange, yielding actionable insights and improved mobility on a local and global scale

Prendre part à une solution intelligente

The Connected Citizens Program (CCP) is proof that we already have the answers to some of today’s mobility challenges. The Waze map strengthens with every data point contributed across our vast community of everyday drivers and volunteer map editors. Via the CCP, hundreds of international cities, departments of transportation and first responders have built meaningful relationships and regularly knowledge share to identify creative solutions. From road management to measurable congestion reduction, these are the initiatives building cities of tomorrow.

Échangez des informations avec Waze pour :

Prendre des décisions guidées par des données fiables

Avoir un aperçu des lieux dangereux ou sujets à congestions fréquentes pour organiser une planification urbaine optimisée

Réduisez les embouteillages dans votre zone

Réorientez les utilisateurs de Waze en temps réel en cas de fermeture de route ou d'accident

Sachez ce qui se passe sur vos routes

Les partenaires sont informés des incidents de circulation en temps réel, plus vite que par n'importe quel autre moyen

Parer aux incidents plus efficacement

Waze identifie et vérifie où des incidents se produisent, permettant une réaction plus rapide et un gain de temps

FAQ

expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Comment les données de Waze peuvent-elles bénéficier à mon institution ?

Des millions d'utilisateurs de Waze empruntent vos routes 27/7 et renseignent sans interruption sur le trafic, les dangers de la route, les conditions routières et la météo. Ces données sont regroupées et analysées par Waze pour vous remonter des informations détaillées sur ce qui se passe sur votre réseau routier.

expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Pourquoi mon institution devrait-elle partager l'information avec Waze ?

Partager avec Waze une information en temps réel vous permet d'améliorer la sécurité des conducteurs de votre zone. Que ce soit les fermetures de routes ou les travaux prévus, envoyer l'information à Waze soulage la congestion en réorientant les conducteurs en temps réel et minimise l'impact de ces événements perturbateurs. Waze cite ses partenaires qui fournissent des informations, un excellent moyen de mettre en valeur votre implication auprès de votre communauté.

expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Comment sont choisis les partenaires Connected Citizens ?

Waze recherche des partenaires qui enrichissent l'application par les informations qu'ils apportent. Dans cette sélection, Waze prend également en compte l'étendue géographique, les compétences techniques et le désir d'innover.

expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Pourquoi Waze a-t-il créé le programme Connected Citizens ?

Waze existe parce que nous sommes tous sur le même bateau : la communauté de bénévoles est une partie intégrante de notre fonctionnement, c'est donc notre intérêt de leur rendre la vie plus simple. Un programme-pilote avec Rio de Janeiro nous a montré que nous apportons aux villes et responsables de gouvernement la compréhension globale et en temps réel des situations, des informations exploitables immédiatement, indépendamment de la population ou des lieux.

La carte Waze évolue grâce à chaque conducteur et chaque donnée ajoutée. CCP collecte davantage de données, donnant aux Wazers une plus grande possibilité de contourner les fermetures de route et les embouteillages.

expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Quels sont les critères d'éligibilité pour devenir membre du CCP ?

Pour devenir membre du CCP, le partenaire doit :

  1. être une agence/administration gouvernementale ou un opérateur routier privé (Google peut cependant faire exception à cette exigence à de rares occasions et à son entière discrétion) ;
  2. compléter le formulaire de candidature d'adhésion au CCP et accepter Conditions particulières pour l'API Waze Traffic Data OU accepter le Contract CCP de Google, et
  3. posséder des données temps-réel de circulation et en détenir les droits nécessaire à leur partage avec Google en accord avec les conditions particulières à l'API Waze Traffic Data.

Un candidat ne soumettra pas de candidature de membre du CCP sans remplir toutes les conditions ci-dessus.

expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Quel type de données Waze partage-t-il avec les partenaires Connected Citizens ?

Le flux de données Waze contient les informations pour la zone désignée, incluant le signalement des bouchons généré automatiquement par l'algorithme et les incidents de circulation remontés par les utilisateurs : bouchon, accident, danger, travaux, nid-de-poule, véhicule arrêté, animal ou objet sur la route, signalisation manquante...

Waze met ses données localisées à disposition de chaque partenaire par un flux XML ou JSON actualisé toutes les deux minutes. Waze propose aussi une interface web, Traffic View, où les partenaires accèdent en temps réel aux incidents signalés par les utilisateurs et aux temps de trajet estimés pour des itinéraires déterminés.

expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Quelles sont les ressources disponibles pour les partenaires Connected Citizens ?

Les partenaires ont accès à un outil exclusif pour ajouter les fermetures de route et signaler les événements majeurs ou les urgences. Les partenaires peuvent également rejoindre un forum de discussion privé collaboratif traitant de questions stratégiques et opérationnelles.

Waze a organisé une première rencontre de partenaires au lancement du programme Connected Citizens en Octobre 2014, puis une seconde en Avril 2015, à Mountain View, CA. Waze prévoit d'organiser de nouvelles rencontres de partenaires pour faciliter la coopération et engager régulièrement des discussions sur l'évolution du programme Connected Citizens.

expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Quels sont les objectifs du programme Connected Citizens ?

Les objectifs de Waze sont de : 1) Mettre à disposition des autorités compétentes les remontées d'incidents afin qu'elles puissent agir, tant pour un carambolage impliquant plusieurs voitures que pour un simple nid-de-poule et 2) Fournir en temps réel aux conducteurs utilisant Waze la meilleure information routière géolocalisée.

expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Quel type de données les partenaires partagent-ils avec Waze ?

Waze intègre les données de ses partenaires sous plusieurs formats (par ordre de préférence) : 1) Via une API de flux direct (JSON, XML ou KML), 2) Données saisies directement dans l'outil Waze Road Closure, 3) Données saisies dans Formulaire Fermeture de Route pour les partenaires ; 4) Courriels à closures@google.com ; et 5) Tous éléments précédents combinés.

Les partenaires sont encouragés à partager les données sur les fermetures de route (programmées ou en temps réel) et les incidents de circulation (travaux, accidents, etc...).

Les données des partenaires doivent au moins contenir les champs suivants : 1) Coordonnées, 2) Nom de rue, 3) Description, et 4) [pour les fermetures] Date & heure de début et de fin.

expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Comment Waze protège-t-il la vie privée des utilisateurs ?
La vie privée de l'utilisateur est primordiale pour Waze. Les fermetures de route et informations d'incident que les partenaires reçoivent sont accessibles au public et remontées à l'application par les utilisateurs Waze. Le nom de l'auteur d'un signalement n'est jamais partagé. Les données que Waze partage avec ses partenaires (ou autre entité) sont en conformité avec les engagements que Waze prend auprès de ses utilisateurs, y compris la Politique de confidentialité de Waze Waze ne partagera jamais l'historique des trajets ou une information privée d'un utilisateur avec un partenaire.
expand_triangle Created with Sketch.
Quel format devons-nous utiliser pour partager des informations avec Waze ?
Waze peut consommer un flux qui ajoute à sa carte automatiquement des fermetures et des zones de travaux. Le flux doit contenir des éléments de base, dont la période de l'événement, son impact sur le trafic, sa nature, etc. Vous pouvez trouver les définitions exactes ici.

Rejoignez nos partenaires

Rio de Janeiro, Los Angeles, Tel Aviv, Boston, Jakarta, l'État de Floride, Washington D.C., Barcelone, Kentucky, Sydney, Budapest, Lettonie, San Jose, Mexico City et bien d'autres !

S'inscrire maintenant

Connecting Citizens and Governments through Data

Join the Connected Citizens free data exchange program from Waze!

Apply now

Exchange data with Waze to:

Know what’s happening on your roads
Partners receive real-time incident information faster than other reporting methods
Increase the efficiency of incident response
Waze accurately pinpoints and verifies where incidents occur, creating faster response and clearing times
Reduce traffic congestion in your area
Reroute Waze users around road closures and incidents in real time
Make data-driven infrastructure decisions
Gain insights into locations with frequent congestion or hazards to drive smarter urban planning

Take part in the smart solution

Join mobility leaders from around the world to discuss case studies and exchange ideas via in-person summits and an online forum.

The Waze map evolves with every driver and data point added. CCP yields more data, giving Wazers a greater ability to circumvent road closures and traffic jams.

Join our global partners

Rio de Janeiro, Los Angeles, Tel Aviv, Boston, Jakarta, Florida, Washington D.C., Barcelona, Kentucky, Sydney, Budapest, Latvia, San Jose, Mexico City and many more!

Apply now

FAQ

How can Waze data benefit my organization?
Millions of Waze users report hourly on traffic, road hazards, road conditions and weather. This data is aggregated and analyzed by Waze, providing you with detailed information on what’s happening on your roads by the people who drive them every day.
Why should my organization share information with Waze?
Sharing up-to-date information with Waze provides another means to maintain the safety of drivers in your area. Whether it’s road closures or planned construction, pushing information to Waze will ease congestion by re-routing drivers in real time and minimizing the impact of such disruptive events. Waze also provides attribution for partner-supplied data within the Waze application, a great way to showcase your involvement to your community.
How are Connected Citizens partners chosen?
Waze aims to work with partners who have additional sources of data not found within the Waze app. Waze also considers several other qualifications including geographical diversity, technical capability and eagerness to innovate.
Why did Waze create the Connected Citizens Program?
Waze was built on the premise that we’re all in this together; the volunteer community is an integral part of our company, and it’s our responsibility to give back to citizens wherever we can. A pilot program with the city of Rio de Janeiro showed us that we can empower city and government leaders with understanding of real-time conditions while delivering actionable insight, regardless of population or location.
The Waze map evolves with every driver and data point added. CCP yields more data, giving Wazers a greater ability to circumvent road closures and traffic jams.
What are the criteria to be eligible for membership in the CCP?

In order to become a member of the CCP, a partner must meet all of the following requirements:

  1. be a government agency or a private road operator (although Google may make an exception to this requirement at its sole discretion in rare circumstances);
  2. complete the CCP membership application and execute The Waze Traffic Data API Additional Terms OR execute Google's CCP Contract; and
  3. possess real-time traffic-related data, and have all of the rights needed to provide the data to Google in compliance with the Waze Traffic Data API Additional Terms.

Partner will not submit an application for membership in the CCP unless it meets all of the above requirements.

What type of data does Waze share with Connected Citizens partners?

The Waze data feed contains filtered data for the specific, monitored area including system-generated traffic jams and user-reported traffic incidents (including jams, accidents, hazards, construction, potholes, roadkill, stopped vehicles, objects on road, and missing signs).

Waze makes its data available for the partner to retrieve through a localized XML or JSON feed that is updated every two minutes. Waze additionally offers a web-interface, the Traffic View Tool, where partners have access to real-time, user-reported incidents and estimated travel time along pre-selected routes.

What are the resources available to Connected Citizens partners?

Partners have access to an exclusive tool for inputting road closures and surfacing major traffic events or emergencies. Partners are also invited to join a partner-only online forum that serves as a hub of collaboration and a space to discuss both strategic and operational issues.

Waze hosted a partner summit that coincided with the launch of the Connected Citizens program in October, 2014, and a second partner summit in April, 2015, in Mountain View, CA. Waze plans to continue hosting regular partner summits to facilitate cooperation between Connected Citizens Partners and to engage in candid conversations about future stages of the Connected Citizens program.

What are the goals of the program?
Waze’s primary goals are 1) To get Waze-reported incident data into the hands of government officials that can address the reported incident, whether it’s a five car pile-up or a pothole; and 2) To give Waze drivers the best real-time, location-based information on what’s happening on the roads.
What kind of data do partners share with Waze?

Waze accepts data from partners in a variety of formats (in preferential order): 1) Access to a live feed API (JSON, XML or KML); 2) Data entered directly into the Waze Road Closure Tool; 3) Data entered into the Partner Closure Google Form ; 4) Emails to closures@google.com ; and 5) Any combination of the above.

Partners are encouraged to share data on road closures (both scheduled and real-time) and traffic incidents (construction, accidents etc.).

Partner data must contain, at a minimum, the following fields: 1) Coordinates; 2) Street names 3) Description, and 4) [For closures] Start and end time.

How does Waze protect users’ privacy?
User privacy is paramount at Waze. All road closure and incident information that partners receive is publicly available and submitted in the app by Waze users. The Waze user alias of each report is never shared. All of the data Waze shares with its partners (or any entity) is in accordance with Waze's user-facing policies, including the Waze Privacy Policy. Waze will never share individual driving history or non-public user information with any partner.
We want to share data with Waze. What format do we need to use?
Waze can consume a feed that adds closures and construction info to the map automatically. The feed needs to contain basic data including the time frame of the event, the severity of the event’s impact on traffic, the nature of the event and so forth. You can find the exact definitions here.