PLR additions being deleted

Hello…
I’m fairly new to Waze & thought I’d try to help out with some map editing, however there isn’t much you can do at L1 status. I’ve seen several large parking lots that have several PLRs in them, so I thought I’d help in that area. I checked all my segments, drive directions, turns, etc. before saving. Today, out of curiosity, I checked the map to see my edits/additions & about 95% of what I did has been deleted (by an L5). Was I wrong in adding the PLRs? Why not just leave them there rather than delete everything? I don’t think I’m editing/adding PLRs any differently than others I’ve seen on the map. Having my work get deleted feels like wasted time & effort, and it sure doesn’t make me feel like contributing or helping out anymore. Being rather new at this, I’d like to know where I went wrong? Any info on this would be helpful, thanks.

Welcome to Waze map editing. Every new editor feels the frustration that you are feeling. Although the Waze map is free for all to edit, the editing community has extensive guidelines on what can and cannot be mapped. The addition of all PLRs is one of the restrictions. These guidelines are detailed in the Waze Wiki. Hopefully you received a private message from the L5 editor providing links to the Wiki; if not, I apologize and I will get those links out to you shortly. I hope that this minor setback will not discourage you from further editing, but will actually encourage you to read and learn more about editing before pushing forward.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk