Waze account depressing reminder of driving status

So, I used to have administrator status for the city I live in and surrounding area, and I went on road trips and drove around the province for work all the time so I had a significant amount of territory unlocked on the Waze map editor.

In May I lost my driver’s license for medical reasons. I might get it back by January. I went on vacation to another city with my wife, and she drove the rental car around. I used Waze to get us places and I noticed an incorrect turn instruction (missing “no left turn”) so I made a note to fix it when I got home, and I finally did today… and then I noticed…

My previous domain over 2/3rds of my home province, 50% of the neighbouring province, and lots of random other areas is basically gone. I don’t even have my entire home city any more because I’m not in the car enough to contribute anything to justify being an admin in the area so I guess I was just dropped. Bah.

My poor car is just sitting in the garage with a cover over it :frowning:

Sorry to hear about the medical concerns. There are things way, way more important than editing in Waze. Probably the most addicting thing about it is the ability to fix a problem immediately, so when you used to be able to, but you can’t now, that’s a letdown all right.

Technically, my understanding is that AM status (regardless of the size of the area) goes away if one stops editing for awhile, on the order of a few months or more. I think that’s automatic. If you would like to discuss it, you could approach a Country Manager (CM) for Canada via forum private message. See this table for a list.

Just to add some additional information… https://wiki.waze.com/wiki/Editable_area and https://wiki.waze.com/wiki/Area_Manager
Note: AM will also expire if no editing for several months…